CURRENT BETA DOWNLOAD (RELEASE 1.4)

Sc
Scribe
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 12:50 am
Platform: Mac

Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:44 am Post

mightygitis wrote:Hey guys, so I was able to get my spell check back by doing a complete uninstall. In this case I mean not only running the regular uninstall but also going into my Control Panel -> Programs & Features and making sure that Scrivener was gone from that list (which it wasn't). After doing this I also went into my C:/Program Files and found my Scrivener folder. This contains back up data, but as I didn't need any back up data because I had already backed up everything before doing any of this, I deleted it.

Once everything was completely gone, I was able to install completely clean and my spell check is back.



This method didn't work for me. I still can't get spellcheck to work on my laptop, but it worked perfect the first time I installed on my desktop.

Je
Jeco
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:47 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows
Contact:

Sun Dec 12, 2010 6:01 am Post

Hi,

I followed Mightygitis suggestion (thank you!) and it worked for me. The English speller is back! It seems that the uninstaller for 1.3 didn't uninstall very well. Anyway, just make sure you follow all the venues to get rid of the previous version of Scrivener as stated by Mightygitis.

HTH.

Cheers.


Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit
Writing is sculpturing your dream.

Ro
Rovi
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 7:26 am
Platform: Windows
Location: Phoenix, Oregon

Sun Dec 12, 2010 6:02 am Post

For what its worth: I installed over the top of 1.3 like brightthings rather than uninstalling, and the speller works.

Rob

Sc
Scribe
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 12:50 am
Platform: Mac

Sun Dec 12, 2010 6:17 am Post

I tried again and it worked! I'm not sure what I missed the first time, but I am sure it was my fault. Thanks Mightygitis! :)

For what it's worth, this is the first bug I've come across since the first beta version. You guys are doing great!

User avatar
mightygitis
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:46 am
Platform: Windows
Location: Hampton Roads
Contact:

Sun Dec 12, 2010 6:22 am Post

No problem! Glad we're getting everybody set up and rolling with the new Beta.
I am running Scrivener Beta 1.4 onWindows XP Home Edition w/ Service Pack 3 installed on a Acer Aspire One netbook computer. I am also running it on Windows Vista Home Basic on a Dell Inspiron E1405 laptop.

Check the Bug List before you post!

al
altocumulus
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:03 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Scotland

Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:11 am Post

I've loaded up 1.4 on top of 1.3.

Spell check okay - everything else too; Although ....

.... for some reason on one of my poems there are lines in 10pt, and others in 8pt; when they all were set in 11pt .... chinscratch ....

Looking forward to using this ... Great work everyone.
Scrivener 1.9.0.0 for Windows on --- Laptop running Windows 10

an
andygrunt
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 9:52 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: UK

Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:35 am Post

One minor problem I just saw after installing V1.4...

I had used the Character template sheets in the NaNoWriMo template. The formatting was messed up (what I typed went off to the left) as I believe is already known. Loading up the project in V1.4, the same sheets seem worse. I can no longer see the titles of the sections (‘Role in Story’ etc). I can move my cursor up and down but when it’s on a line where there’s a title, it disappears. On a hunch, when this happened, I pressed ‘Home’ (to move the cursor to the start of the line) then ‘Tab’ and the title re-appeared. The titles seem to be way off the left hand edge of the page.

Ah – Just tried selecting all then noticed the page margin marker wotsit above the ruler was almost off the edge of the screen so I grabbed it and moved it back to the ‘0’ position and the titles re-appear.

By the way, I vote for sorting out document templates and icons next (more useful to me than importing/exporting Word files) :D

Just noticed I can import an image into a document (something I couldn’t find a way of doing in 1.3 – yay!)
Windows 7 Professional, 32 Bit & Mac OS X Lion

JJ
JJSlote
Posts: 669
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:44 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: NY, USA

Sun Dec 12, 2010 1:04 pm Post

mightygitis wrote:went into my C:/Program Files and found my Scrivener folder. .. I deleted it.


Confirmed. Uninstalling 1.4 and renaming the Scrivener folder in C:\Program Files got spell check working on a fresh install.

Thanks, mightygitis.

Jerome

Sp
SpirosD
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:30 pm

Sun Dec 12, 2010 1:12 pm Post

Bit of a minor point but apparently the installer doesn't remove the Scrivener shortcut in the start menu.

Luckily, the installer puts a new shortcut called "Scrivener Beta 1.4", which distinguishes it from the old shortcut (which is just called "Scrivener Beta").

But it really should get rid of the old one (or keep the same generic name)

Jg
Jgibson
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:25 pm
Platform: Windows

Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:02 pm Post

Having same problems with spell checker as other report here. I am running an Asus eee pc netbook with windows xp.

Ve
Venusian31
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:02 pm
Platform: Windows

Sun Dec 12, 2010 6:33 pm Post

After doing a complete uninstall of the old scrivener, including manual removal of all files and folders not removed by the uninstall process, and installing the new release, everything is working fine, including spell checking. At least for now.

I'm frustrated though, because Scrivener still does not work on my two primary computers. Since the very first release, I've only been able to use Scrivener on one very old Dell Inspiron 700M laptop. When I install it on either of my two primary laptops, the program will open but it crashes when trying to create a new project and it won't open any existing projects. It either crashes or gets an incompatible error when trying to open any project, even one that is a known working project.

All 3 of my laptops are Windows XP Pro, fully updated and all have the c++ distributables installed. Why it only works on one of these three laptops when the setups on all three are the same makes no sense to me. All I can guess is that programs installed on my two primary computers interfere with Scrivener.

The one laptop it works on, has very few other programs installed, since it's a laptop I don't use. I'm loving Scrivener so far, but it's inconvenient to only be able to use it on this one laptop. All the other programs I use are on my other laptops and the one time I tried to install another program on this laptop, Scrivener promptly crashed and stopped working. Uninstalling the other program didn't get Scrivener working again. Neither did uninstalling and reinstalling Scrivener. I had to do a complete system rollback to get Scrivener working again. I don't dare try to install anything else for fear that Scrivener will break again.

I really hope that they'll get this issue worked out soon. I'm loving Scrivener and really want to use this for all future writing projects, but I need to have it working on my primary computers.

al
ally
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:23 pm
Platform: Windows

Sun Dec 12, 2010 7:06 pm Post

I installed 1.4 over the top of 1.3. When I first opened my project Spellcheck wasn't working. (running XP and have had very few problems with Scrivener so far). I went into Options under Edit and in Auto Corrections unchecked then rechecked Check Spelling as you type. Hit Apply and when I returned to my project the Live Spellcheck was working again.

Hope someone finds this helpful :)

User avatar
mightygitis
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:46 am
Platform: Windows
Location: Hampton Roads
Contact:

Sun Dec 12, 2010 7:28 pm Post

I can also confirm that my shortcuts hung around from the earlier Beta, but it was one of the things I deleted during my second uninstall process.

Jgibson wrote:Having same problems with spell checker as other report here. I am running an Asus eee pc netbook with windows xp.


Did you try the fix listed in this thread?
I am running Scrivener Beta 1.4 onWindows XP Home Edition w/ Service Pack 3 installed on a Acer Aspire One netbook computer. I am also running it on Windows Vista Home Basic on a Dell Inspiron E1405 laptop.

Check the Bug List before you post!

Mi
Mirrorscape
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 4:35 pm
Platform: Windows

Sun Dec 12, 2010 8:01 pm Post

The spell-checking has never worked for me in any version. At first I thought this was a problem with Scrivener running on computers with the language set to something other than US English as I live in Sweden. Even though I do write in English I thought that perhaps the program assumed that I would be writing in Swedish and that was why I was getting no spell-checking.

I have now tried all the workarounds in this thread and I still have no spell-checking. If this is because the program thinks I want to write in Swedish I do not know as I can find no option for telling the program what language I am writing in (hopefully this will be available in the finished product).

ya
yam655
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 1:29 am
Platform: Windows

Sun Dec 12, 2010 8:07 pm Post

My spell check worked fine.

Something I did notice.

When I uninstalled Beta 1.3, I noticed it also thought I had Beta 1.0 still installed. When I tried to uninstall that version as well, the uninstall failed.

Initially I went ahead and installed Beta 1.4, however I noticed the Beta 1.0 left some cruft hanging around. I uninstalled Beta 1.4, then removed the contents of "C:\Program Files(x86)\Scrivener". (I'm on a 64-bit platform. If I were 32-bit it would just be "C:\Program Files\Scrivener".)

I actually didn't try out the spell-checker before I cleaned out the contents of the Scrivener folder. However, it is possible that cruft from an earlier version didn't get cleared out properly.

If you uninstall Beta-1.4 the C:\Program Files*\Scrivener folder should be empty. If it isn't empty you can clear it out and see if that fixes the problem.