Closing double quote backward after emdash

User avatar
lukerahl
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:45 pm
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Fri Mar 26, 2021 9:39 pm Post

When adding a closing double quote after an emdash it adds an opening double quote instead.
double-quote-emdash-issue.PNG
double-quote-emdash-issue.PNG (14.07 KiB) Viewed 361 times

User avatar
Jestar
Posts: 432
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:51 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Fri Mar 26, 2021 10:48 pm Post

lukerahl wrote:When adding a closing double quote after an emdash it adds an opening double quote instead.
double-quote-emdash-issue.PNG

Smart quotes aren't. Even Word gets this wrong. Best bet is to type in the sentence fragment with the quotes (so you can see that they are right), then add the emdash in.
Win 10 Ent. 64-Bit 20H2
Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3,4 GHz (Quadcore) 32 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB
NVIDIA Quadro K600
Scrivener Version: Version: 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019 & Version: 3.0.1.0 (1274136) 64-bit - 28 Apr 2021

User avatar
lukerahl
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:45 pm
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Fri Mar 26, 2021 11:06 pm Post

Jestar wrote:
lukerahl wrote:When adding a closing double quote after an emdash it adds an opening double quote instead.
double-quote-emdash-issue.PNG

Smart quotes aren't. Even Word gets this wrong. Best bet is to type in the sentence fragment with the quotes (so you can see that they are right), then add the emdash in.


So not true. MS Word gets it right, and so does Scrivener 1!

User avatar
devinganger
Posts: 2671
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:55 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: Monroe, WA 98272
Contact:

Fri Mar 26, 2021 11:13 pm Post

lukerahl wrote:
Jestar wrote:
lukerahl wrote:When adding a closing double quote after an emdash it adds an opening double quote instead.
double-quote-emdash-issue.PNG

Smart quotes aren't. Even Word gets this wrong. Best bet is to type in the sentence fragment with the quotes (so you can see that they are right), then add the emdash in.


So not true. MS Word gets it right, and so does Scrivener 1!


On Word in the M365 subscription, I get a straight quote after the emdash.

That seems sub-optimal.

WordQuoteAfterEmdash.jpg
WordQuoteAfterEmdash.jpg (11.6 KiB) Viewed 341 times
--
Devin L. Ganger
Not a L&L employee; opinions are those of my cat
Life has a way of moving you past wants and hopes -- Kevin Flynn

User avatar
Jestar
Posts: 432
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:51 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Sat Mar 27, 2021 1:24 am Post

lukerahl wrote:
Jestar wrote:
lukerahl wrote:When adding a closing double quote after an emdash it adds an opening double quote instead.
double-quote-emdash-issue.PNG

Smart quotes aren't. Even Word gets this wrong. Best bet is to type in the sentence fragment with the quotes (so you can see that they are right), then add the emdash in.


So not true. MS Word gets it right, and so does Scrivener 1!


This is Word 2016 on Windows - fully up to date:
Screenshot 2021-03-26 180748.png
Word 2016 Win
Screenshot 2021-03-26 180748.png (2.19 KiB) Viewed 332 times

This is O365 online (note that it doesn't get doing double dashes to get an em dash):
Screenshot 2021-03-26 181559.png
O365 online
Screenshot 2021-03-26 181559.png (2.11 KiB) Viewed 332 times

This is from Scrivener 1.9.16.0:
Screenshot 2021-03-26 182156.png
Scriv 1.9.16.0
Screenshot 2021-03-26 182156.png (1.74 KiB) Viewed 332 times
Win 10 Ent. 64-Bit 20H2
Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3,4 GHz (Quadcore) 32 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB
NVIDIA Quadro K600
Scrivener Version: Version: 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019 & Version: 3.0.1.0 (1274136) 64-bit - 28 Apr 2021

User avatar
lukerahl
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:45 pm
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Sat Mar 27, 2021 1:50 pm Post

Obviously it won't work if there's a space before the double quotes, but it should otherwise.

ve
vera-z
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 7:15 pm
Platform: Windows

Sat Mar 27, 2021 10:38 pm Post

Jestar wrote:
lukerahl wrote:When adding a closing double quote after an emdash it adds an opening double quote instead.
double-quote-emdash-issue.PNG

Smart quotes aren't. Even Word gets this wrong.


Sad but true. I've been working around this issue forever.

I automatically add a letter after the closing em dash to obtain the correct quote.

User avatar
andrewbond
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 2:31 am
Platform: Linux
Location: Everett, WA
Contact:

Tue Mar 30, 2021 8:33 pm Post

vera-z wrote:
Jestar wrote:
lukerahl wrote:When adding a closing double quote after an emdash it adds an opening double quote instead.
double-quote-emdash-issue.PNG

Smart quotes aren't. Even Word gets this wrong.


Sad but true. I've been working around this issue forever.

I automatically add a letter after the closing em dash to obtain the correct quote.


I've had to train myself to not use spaces on either side of the emdash. Unless you're writing using the AP-Style Guide, then the spaces are superfluous. Fonts should kern correctly and leave a tiny amount of room between the letter, the emdash, and the next letter.
I'm old enough to have actually worked in old fashioned print shops and "electronic typesetters". It's been a tough transition. Much like training myself not to use double-spaces after periods (full-stops) and colons.
Fedora 34
CrossOver Version 20.0.4
Scrivener Version: 3.0.1.0 64-bit

Je
Jenmacha
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 2:12 am
Platform: Windows

Sun Apr 11, 2021 2:30 am Post

I'll second the 'I use Microsoft Word 365 subscription and it gets smart quotes after em-dashes right all the time' club. I saw another thread somewhere on this forum that claimed Word doesn't do this either, and honestly, my jaw dropped. Word absolutely does do this. It is, however, an option you must tell it to do. Specifically, one must go to File>Options>Proofing. Then click on AutoCorrect options, select the tab 'AutoFormat As You Type' and check off 'replace straight quotes with smart quotes.' So I guess there's just a lot of people out there who haven't.

And I'd be pleased as punch if the same thing was an option for Scrivener. If people don't want it to behave that way, fine, but please give me the option to customize this behavior.

I would really, REALLY like to have this fixed. I've seen all the workarounds, I hate them, and there's really no reason that this can't be done right. Hell, I'd settle for being able to use 'Edit Substitutions' under Corrections, but that holds the information as plain type -- thus no subbing a left to a right quotation mark will work (believe me, I have tried). I use this often enough that it really irks, particularly when my documents are typically 200k or greater.