Fun With Tables of Contents and More...

ap
apophis13
Platform: Windows

Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:51 pm Post

Hello all! I've been using Scrivener for a few years now for several large and ongoing projects, and I generally love it. However, I recently moved my scrivener to a Desktop off of my laptop just because I really wanted a larger screen to work with, and the things I do require a lot of applications at once and a lot more power than my Laptop offered.

At any rate, I moved everything over there easily enough, and made some rather large changes to a Players Handbook which I maintain, then Published it out. I didn't check the .pdf because, well, I've been using Scrivener for a while, and it's always just worked:)

Well, it turns out the the Table of Contents no longer work and that, in fact, the only reason why they ever worked was because my Laptop has Office 2013 on it. I shelled out the money for the Office 2019 for the other computer (which isn't too bad because it does actually help me to have excel on here, but then...well, it still doesn't work.

OK, ok, I do some research. Oh! There's a Beta, and it's supposed to fix this! Alas, no. Now, it's even worse because the Table of Contents throw some weird error in the .pdf link AND only half of the numbers even show up. Fun!

Also, page breaks don't work anymore, which is even better.

OK, I think, there must be an easy fix to this. If all else fails, consult the Users Manual. So, I do.

And, it tells me that...well...Tables of Contents are not important anymore. So, the new thing doesn't do them.