Scrivener Needs Urgent Updates

sq
squeakyhiro
Platform: Windows

Mon Jun 13, 2016 7:29 am Post

I have been using Scrivener for the past two years and it mostly does the job. However, the known (and often acknowledged) bugs from the October 2015 update still irk and annoy countless Scrivener users. The forums are still full of troubleshooting questions and complaints.

I have experienced the lost clipboard/import text bug once (which was damn annoying). But my particular hate is the display bug in the Scrivenings mode. This is the bug that only allows you to see the first few chapters and then displays the rest of the manuscript as blank text (presumably because it is unable to buffer/compile it in memory). This is really annoying when you are trying to do global searches across all chapters. Nine months on, it should have been fixed. But it ain't!

With the English version of the (apparently) excellent Papyrus Author on the way, you really need to pull up your socks and fix your software or else you may find several defectors. I really do want to love Scrivener, but you are making it hard with all the unresolved bugs. We shouldn't have to wait for the release of Scrivener 2 or Scrivener 3 for these errors to be fixed.

ma
matsgz
Platform: Mac + iOS

Mon Jun 13, 2016 7:45 am Post

squeakyhiro wrote:I have been using Scrivener for the past two years and it mostly does the job. However, the known (and often acknowledged) bugs from the October 2015 update still irk and annoy countless Scrivener users. The forums are still full of troubleshooting questions and complaints.

First time poster "squeakyhiro", good luck with Papyrus Author. I hope your plugging it will make it known to a wider public. (I haven't heard about it and have happily churned out essays, scripts and short stories without encountering the game-changing flaws of Scrivener that you now make public. I love whistle-blowers.)
Scribo ergo sum

vic-k
Platform: Mac + Windows