Quality of EPUB generation

cleardemon
Platform: Mac

Tue Dec 06, 2011 2:45 pm Post

Hi folks, been using Windows Scrivener since first beta and it has been instrumental in writing my book ever since I switched from trying to manage 30K words in MS Word (and the size has since tripled). Now I'm approaching the point where I'm looking to bring to market.

I shall be self-publishing to finished product (and subsequent products!) into next year and Scrivener's e-book generation was an added bonus when the feature was introduced. However, I have a few concerns about the actual quality of the ePub data the software produces.

Bit of a disclaimer: my day job is software development and has been for over 20 years. I have been involved with anything from games development on consoles to high profile business applications across multiple platforms. In short, I know my way around software.

So naturally, when I exported my first proof of my book to ePub from Scrivener, I immediately extracted all the files from the Zip file to see what was generated. While the meta-data is generally OK, the HTML is less than perfect.

Because Scrivener is a word processor and not an HTML editor, I suppose some of the intricacies of polished HTML generation is lost based on the flexibility of the word processing and formatting...

Code: Select all

<p style="text-align:center;  margin-top:0px; margin-bottom:0px; margin-left:0px; margin-right:0px; -qt-block-indent:0; text-indent:0px; page-break-before:always;"><span style=" font-family:'Garamond'; font-size:16pt; font-weight:600;">Chapter Twenty-One</span></p>

However, that is just awful -- and every paragraph in the entire book is composed of in-line style sheets such as this. As I am primarily looking to ship my books digitally, if I have to modify the ePub generated in the future for whatever reason, cleaning up the HTML is going to be a real chore.