Ok, I give up, what do Keywords actually do?

Au
Aurelius
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:27 pm
Platform: Windows

Sun Nov 20, 2011 7:47 pm Post

Is there any documentation about keywords?

User avatar
StaceyUK
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:00 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS

Sun Nov 20, 2011 7:50 pm Post

Have you tried the interactive tutorial or the manual? Both are available via the help menu.
Blessings, Stacey

System Specs

Windows 7
Scrivener 1.9.7 / 2.8 /3.0.3/1.1.5 (1301)
Scapple 1.0.0.0
Windows 2.9.0.26 Beta

Au
Aurelius
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:27 pm
Platform: Windows

Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:10 pm Post

I've tried both of those.

I have an Interactive Tutorial option in the dropdown menu, but I click it and there's no file installed, it just opens file explorer.

As for the manual, you must mean page 71, where it tells me I can drop keywords onto other keywords!

Thanks, but it hasn't answered my question.

User avatar
StaceyUK
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:00 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS

Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:17 pm Post

Ok Keywords are basically tags you can apply to individual files. You can apply a single label but multiple keywords. Using tags allows you to keep tabs of specific things such as a character in fiction or an idea or theory in non fiction writing. Keywords are searchable meaning that you can see a list of all files with that keyword. You can even save this search as a collection for viewing later.

Does this help?
Blessings, Stacey

System Specs

Windows 7
Scrivener 1.9.7 / 2.8 /3.0.3/1.1.5 (1301)
Scapple 1.0.0.0
Windows 2.9.0.26 Beta

Au
Aurelius
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:27 pm
Platform: Windows

Sun Nov 20, 2011 11:26 pm Post

Thank you Stacey, I really appreciate your taking the time to reply.

I'm not sure it's going to be useful to me, but at least I know.

Mr
MrDithers
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 7:09 am
Platform: Mac + Windows

Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:38 am Post

Keywords are a major functionality available within Scrivener. I use keywords to track my characters and which scenes they're in along with Point of View. There's a really cool way of doing that somewhere around here by that fellow who wrote the ebook on using Scrivener for writing a novel. I can't find the link though, sorry.

User avatar
pigfender
Posts: 2754
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 10:25 am
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: I share a head with a great many personalities
Contact:

Mon Nov 21, 2011 10:06 am Post

Here's how I use keywords.

I set up in the Keyword HUD two keywords for each character, eg
Dave_(mentioned)
Dave_(present)
John_(mentioned)
John_(present)
Phil_(mentioned)
Phil_(present)

I also set up a keyword for each location in the book, eg
Hospital_Ward

Each character gets it's own colour, so Dave_(mentioned) and Dave_(present) will be the same colour. All locations are white.
Note that all the keywords have underscores instead of spaces - they only work if each keyword is a single wordstring.

Then, for each scene (which in my case is an individual text file) I add a number of keywords.
The first is the location the scene takes place.
Then there are any characters present in the scene, followed by any that are only mentioned.

Eg, a scene betweeen Dave and John at the Hospital ward where they talk about Phil would have the following keywords:
Hospital_Ward
Dave_(present)
John_(present)
Phil_(mentioned)

With this set up, I can then use the search facilities to tell me things such as:
Has Dave ever been to the Hospital Ward?
Search for: Hospital_Ward Dave_(present)

Have Dave and Phil met in the book / Show me all the scenes with Dave and Phil in
Search for: Phil_(present) Dave_(present)

If in editing I want to change something about my description of the hospital ward, I can call all the scenes up with:
Search for: Hospital_Ward

I can also find out all the scenes where John is either physically present or mentioned:
Do an "Any words" Search for: John_(mentioned) John_(present)
(change search parameters in the little drop down triangle in the search bar)
"Some dice only have sixes." nom, 19 Oct 2013
"Piggy, I'm beginning to wonder if you are the best person to take advice from." Jaysen, 26 Sept 2014

Image
http://www.pigfender.com | http://www.novelinaday.com

Image

Gr
Grandad7
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:47 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:37 pm Post

wow pigfender that is cool I will use that info
thanks for posting
Grandad7 (now8)

Au
Aurelius
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:27 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:55 pm Post

Thanks pigfender, for a really good response. I may just try it now that I understand a bit more.

User avatar
Camy
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:42 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: Wales

Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:04 pm Post

Pigfender, thanks a lot! :D
Image

MacPro 7.5 - Scrivener & Scapple
Lenovo - Ubuntu/Win 8.1- Scrivener & Scapple

So
Soverywrite
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 1:46 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: USA
Contact:

Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:10 pm Post

Pigfender, thank you for posting that information. I've been using Keywords, but now I know that I have not been utilizing them to their full potential.

Again, thanks for sharing how you use Keywords!

Be
BethCutter
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 4:52 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Dec 01, 2011 4:01 pm Post

You know, that explanation of keywords is too good to let fall down out of sight in feedback.

Maybe move it to the Tips forum? Or add it to the manual or something like that.

User avatar
garpu
Posts: 2016
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:38 pm
Platform: Linux

Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:20 pm Post

For what it's worth, I found out that you can have whitespace in keywords now.
Slackware-current 64-bit, XFCE

User avatar
pigfender
Posts: 2754
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 10:25 am
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: I share a head with a great many personalities
Contact:

Fri Dec 02, 2011 4:16 pm Post

garpu wrote:For what it's worth, I found out that you can have whitespace in keywords now.


You can have spaces and that works fine as long as you only ever search for one keyword at a time. Single keyword searches trigger the "Exact phrase" type search. However, if you want to use the above techniques to search for more than one keyword appearing, this is done under an "All words" search (searches done via the HUD automatically make this switch) and you'd end up with false positives.

So yes, you can use spaces, but the underscores approach provides a bit more 'future proofing' for more complex searches later.
"Some dice only have sixes." nom, 19 Oct 2013
"Piggy, I'm beginning to wonder if you are the best person to take advice from." Jaysen, 26 Sept 2014

Image
http://www.pigfender.com | http://www.novelinaday.com

Image

jr
jravan
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 2:15 pm
Platform: Windows

Fri Dec 02, 2011 8:24 pm Post

I just tried using keywords (for the first time). And with blanks. I had:

Will t
Bob m

"t" for "talks" and "m" for "mentioned".

A search in the Project Keywords dialog for "Will t" and "Bob m" seemed to select the correct files, so blanks seemed to work even with multiple keywords. Am I missing something important?

I'm using 1.0.2 right now.