Templates

ma
majtophat
Platform: Windows

Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:34 pm Post

I know this probably is not a big priority right now, especially since a lot of people are doing NaNo, but i was wondering when the other templates were going to be implemented. And I was also wondering if it were possible to make the templates and somehow export them into Scrivener, and if this requires writing some code I won't mind, I am a computer programmer to the core. Did you use C++ to write Scrivener?

AmberV
Platform: Mac + Linux

Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:20 pm Post

Edit: Removed as this answer had nothing to do with the Windows version. :oops: See below for answer.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

Ge
GeoJunkie

Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:30 pm Post

AmberV,

The Windows users that are reading this forum can't update to the 2.0 version yet, can we?

AmberV
Platform: Mac + Linux

Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:54 pm Post

Many apologies! I got snagged by the Wrong Forum Syndrome. Heh.

I'll edit the above with a disclaimer.

For Windows, built-in templates will probably not be fully implemented until closer to release, otherwise it would take extra time to keep them all up to date and bug-free until the end, time which could be better spent fixing bugs and getting features implemented.

As for the template feature itself, once this is implemented the basics of what I described are available to Windows users as well. For example the basic idea of setting up a project the way you want it as a starter, and then using `File/Save As Template` are identical. This has yet to be fully wired up yet, but when it is, no programming knowledge will be necessary. I'd presume this will happen well before final release, so that it can be properly tested. I'm not sure where it is on the road map though.

It is C++ by the way.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

ma
majtophat

Tue Nov 09, 2010 9:07 am Post