Scrivener 3 Windows Toolbar Display Title

ma
madyd
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2021 4:55 am
Platform: Windows

Tue Apr 06, 2021 5:00 am Post

Hi all, I'm a longtime user of Scrivener 1 and recently upgraded to Scrivener 3. While using Scrivener 1, if I had two projects open at once, the Windows toolbar would display the window name as the short filename, such as "Project." In Scrivener 3, however, the toolbar displays the window name as the full filename that the project is saved as, for example, C:\Users\my name\Documents... etc. The issue with this is that I can't see from a quick glance what I'm working on - it's quite annoying! Any fixes that anyone knows of for this?

Here is an example screenshot to show what I mean: https://i.imgur.com/fdqNIPv.png
Instead of displaying "C:\Users\madel\Do..." I would like it to simply say "Project," essentially.

User avatar
drmajorbob
Posts: 912
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 1:38 am
Platform: Mac

Tue Apr 06, 2021 5:33 am Post

madyd wrote:Hi all, I'm a longtime user of Scrivener 1 and recently upgraded to Scrivener 3. While using Scrivener 1, if I had two projects open at once, the Windows toolbar would display the window name as the short filename, such as "Project." In Scrivener 3, however, the toolbar displays the window name as the full filename that the project is saved as, for example, C:\Users\my name\Documents... etc. The issue with this is that I can't see from a quick glance what I'm working on - it's quite annoying! Any fixes that anyone knows of for this?

Here is an example screenshot to show what I mean: https://i.imgur.com/fdqNIPv.png
Instead of displaying "C:\Users\madel\Do..." I would like it to simply say "Project," essentially.

It's at Options>Appearance>General Interface, a checkbox for "show full project path in the title bar".

That said, if the name is long enough to be a problem, I'd shorten the name. It's important to know where your projects are.
Teeth, without gums, fall loosely in the mouth.

(I'm not a Literature & Latte employee. Just another user.)

User avatar
Charlson
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:16 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Tue Apr 06, 2021 10:22 am Post

I'm a big fan of showing the full path (as I'm known to have two similar—if not completely identical—file names in different locations), but the file path can become quite long (due to my obsessively organizing folders and subfolders into a hierarchical arrangement I alone might be able to navigate.)

Still, I do want to see both the path and the filename, so I use the Windows subst command at startup to map subfolders to unique drive letters. For instance, under my Projects folder (the full path to just that is already fairly long) I have the Fiction folder mapped as the F drive and the Non-Fiction folder as the N drive.

The benefit of doing it this way allows me to see F:\Non-Unique Project Name.scriv in one Scrivener instance, and N:\Non-Unique Project Name.scriv in another instance and I'll still always know not only where the projects are located, but which is which.

As an unrelated side-note, when I look at my mapped drives in Windows Explorer, the various locations I subst'd are all named "Windows" so they show up as Windows (F:) and Windows (N:) whereas I'd LOVE to be able to name them Fiction and Nonfiction so their purpose was clearer in Explorer (i.e., they'd so they show up as Fiction (F:) and Non-Fiction (N:), but—sigh—I've not been able to figure out how to make that work (though it IS supposed to be possible.) So, if anyone knows the secret sauce, I'd appreciate being in on the "how-to".
Thanks,

Micah
ex-programmer and devoted fan

Scrivener for Windows 3
Version 3.0.0.0 (1238528) 64-bit - 23 Mar 2021
running on Windows 10 Home


Scrivener for Windows
Version 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019
running on Windows 10 Home

BC
BClarke
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:58 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Longmont, CO, USA

Tue Apr 06, 2021 12:25 pm Post

So, if anyone knows the secret sauce, I'd appreciate being in on the "how-to".

If I create a SUBST location then right-click on it, the Rename option is available. Do you not get that when you right-click on the name?

User avatar
devinganger
Posts: 2669
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:55 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: Monroe, WA 98272
Contact:

Tue Apr 06, 2021 6:12 pm Post

Charlson wrote:Still, I do want to see both the path and the filename, so I use the Windows subst command at startup to map subfolders to unique drive letters.


Just want to say that I *love* this use of built-in features to solve problems.
--
Devin L. Ganger
Not a L&L employee; opinions are those of my cat
Life has a way of moving you past wants and hopes -- Kevin Flynn

User avatar
Charlson
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:16 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Tue Apr 06, 2021 7:24 pm Post

BClarke wrote:
So, if anyone knows the secret sauce, I'd appreciate being in on the "how-to".

If I create a SUBST location then right-click on it, the Rename option is available. Do you not get that when you right-click on the name?


I do get the Rename option. And when I try to change the F-drive (currently named "Windows") to be named "Fiction", I always get a dialogue named "Invalid drive Label" that tells me "The volume label is not valid. Please enter a valid volume label."

So, yes. I do get it. It just doesn't honor it. It's infuriating.

It won't even let me rename it "Windows"! (That might be excused as Windows way of saying "But wait, it's already called Windows" though.)
Thanks,

Micah
ex-programmer and devoted fan

Scrivener for Windows 3
Version 3.0.0.0 (1238528) 64-bit - 23 Mar 2021
running on Windows 10 Home


Scrivener for Windows
Version 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019
running on Windows 10 Home

User avatar
devinganger
Posts: 2669
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:55 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: Monroe, WA 98272
Contact:

Tue Apr 06, 2021 7:34 pm Post

Charlson wrote:I do get the Rename option. And when I try to change the F-drive (currently named "Windows") to be named "Fiction", I always get a dialogue named "Invalid drive Label" that tells me "The volume label is not valid. Please enter a valid volume label."


Apparently, relabeling a SUBST drive volume is not allowed.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/window ... ands/subst
--
Devin L. Ganger
Not a L&L employee; opinions are those of my cat
Life has a way of moving you past wants and hopes -- Kevin Flynn

ma
madyd
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2021 4:55 am
Platform: Windows

Wed Apr 07, 2021 12:58 am Post

drmajorbob wrote:
madyd wrote:Hi all, I'm a longtime user of Scrivener 1 and recently upgraded to Scrivener 3. While using Scrivener 1, if I had two projects open at once, the Windows toolbar would display the window name as the short filename, such as "Project." In Scrivener 3, however, the toolbar displays the window name as the full filename that the project is saved as, for example, C:\Users\my name\Documents... etc. The issue with this is that I can't see from a quick glance what I'm working on - it's quite annoying! Any fixes that anyone knows of for this?

Here is an example screenshot to show what I mean: https://i.imgur.com/fdqNIPv.png
Instead of displaying "C:\Users\madel\Do..." I would like it to simply say "Project," essentially.

It's at Options>Appearance>General Interface, a checkbox for "show full project path in the title bar".

That said, if the name is long enough to be a problem, I'd shorten the name. It's important to know where your projects are.


Thank you for the help! This worked perfectly :D

BC
BClarke
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:58 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Longmont, CO, USA

Wed Apr 07, 2021 1:53 pm Post

Apparently, relabeling a SUBST drive volume is not allowed.

Maybe permissions are part of the equation, because I can definitely rename a SUBST drive. I created one from the command line with "SUBST D: \ C:\Dev\Applications" and it shows up in File Explorer. I then right-click, select Rename, and change the name from "SUSBST Drive" to "DevFolder."

subst-1.png
subst-1.png (10.55 KiB) Viewed 232 times
subst-2.png
subst-2.png (11.53 KiB) Viewed 232 times

User avatar
Charlson
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:16 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:21 pm Post

BClarke wrote:
Apparently, relabeling a SUBST drive volume is not allowed.
I created one from the command line with "SUBST D: \ C:\Dev\Applications" and it shows up in File Explorer. I then right-click, select Rename, and change the name from "SUSBST Drive" to "DevFolder."


Hrmm. I'm curious about the first backslash in your SUBST command. My SUBST command looks like this:

Code: Select all

subst F: "C:\Users\Charlson\Dropbox\Private Documents\Charlson DB\Writing\Scrivener3\Projects\WIPs\Fiction"


When I open a cmd window and type "subst /?" there's no mention of a backslash parameter.

I have to wonder if my problem essentially stems from the fact I'm trying to rename a subst'd folder on the C: drive, where Windows resides...

But, as you can see from the length of my path, I really do have need to shorten it :)
Thanks,

Micah
ex-programmer and devoted fan

Scrivener for Windows 3
Version 3.0.0.0 (1238528) 64-bit - 23 Mar 2021
running on Windows 10 Home


Scrivener for Windows
Version 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019
running on Windows 10 Home

BC
BClarke
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:58 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Longmont, CO, USA

Thu Apr 08, 2021 5:05 pm Post

Hrmm. I'm curious about the first backslash in your SUBST command.

I tried it with and without the backslash on the drive being "created" and the results were the same -- I could rename the substitution.

"C:\Users\Charlson\Dropbox\Private Documents\Charlson DB\Writing\Scrivener3\Projects\WIPs\Fiction"

It does seem like a few levels could be pared from that. :)

User avatar
devinganger
Posts: 2669
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:55 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: Monroe, WA 98272
Contact:

Fri Apr 09, 2021 12:44 am Post

Charlson wrote:
BClarke wrote:
devinganger wrote:Apparently, relabeling a SUBST drive volume is not allowed.
I created one from the command line with "SUBST D: \ C:\Dev\Applications" and it shows up in File Explorer. I then right-click, select Rename, and change the name from "SUSBST Drive" to "DevFolder."


I have to wonder if my problem essentially stems from the fact I'm trying to rename a subst'd folder on the C: drive, where Windows resides...


BClarke's example is also on the C: drive.

I just tried it on mine, and I got the same issue that you did, Charlson. I've tried playing with combinations of admin/non-admin CMD windows, etc., and the only thing I wonder is that my C: has Bitlocker active. I wonder if that's messing with it somehow?
--
Devin L. Ganger
Not a L&L employee; opinions are those of my cat
Life has a way of moving you past wants and hopes -- Kevin Flynn