Scrivener freezes

un
unnknown_
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 5:49 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:02 pm Post

okay, so i'll try to keep this concise even tho i've got so much caffeine in me, i'm shaky lol.

anyway. whenever i make a table (which i mostly use to keep track of timelines, characters and their roles, etc.), i like to colour-code them - ie, lilac for x and dates for them, blue for y and dates/events regarding them, and so on. this enables me to be able to just glance at the table and see which events involve character x but not character y.

unfortunately, scrivener likes to freeze up and crash whenever i try to fill the table cell with the colour, and it's quite honestly getting on my nerves.

i enjoy how neat and tidy my files look when i use tables to keep them organised. i don't enjoy having to fight with my writing program whenever it decides to get a bug up its butt.

does this happen to anyone else? and if so, is there a way i can fix it?

User avatar
DavidR
Posts: 878
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:21 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Oct 17, 2019 3:41 pm Post

Quick question, though I haven't got anything substantive to contribute: is this in v. 1.9.x of the program, or the beta (v. 2.9.0.x)?
David
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.9
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

What's the difference between a free lance and a loose cannon?

un
unnknown_
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 5:49 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Thu Oct 17, 2019 4:17 pm Post

DavidR wrote:Quick question, though I haven't got anything substantive to contribute: is this in v. 1.9.x of the program, or the beta (v. 2.9.0.x)?

mine is 1.9 - definitely not beta, i don't think. and it's only ever on the desktop version, never the mobile app.

User avatar
DavidR
Posts: 878
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:21 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Oct 17, 2019 7:08 pm Post

OK. As I said, I don't have any concrete suggestions, since I've never tried to do this. Actually, just to test I did try it, creating a small table and putting in background colors using the table properties dialog. It didn't crash for me, so not helpful for you.

You could report this in the bug report forum; there's a 9-year-old report there of something that might be similar, but surely ought to have been fixed by now. Honestly, though, since v. 3 is so far along and they're fully engaged in it, I doubt that it would get fixed. Hopefully v. 3 will have it sorted.

Wish I had more (or any) help to offer. Can you give more detail about how you create the tables and work with them? Perhaps someone more experienced with tables could give a suggestion.
David
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.9
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

What's the difference between a free lance and a loose cannon?

User avatar
haep
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:29 am
Platform: Win + iOS

Thu Oct 17, 2019 7:55 pm Post

unnknown_ wrote:okay, so i'll try to keep this concise even tho i've got so much caffeine in me, i'm shaky lol.
... does this happen to anyone else? and if so, is there a way i can fix it?

You can contact for support Bug Reporting
Windows 10 home 2004
Intel(R) Core i7-7500U CPU 2.7GHz 2.9 GHz 8.00GB RAM
SSD 500GB
15" 1920x1080 at 125% zoom
23" 1920x1080 at 100% zoom
32" 1360x768 at 100% zoom

IPhone 8 Plus IOS 13.5.1
IPad Pro 12.9” third gen. IOS 13.5.1

un
unnknown_
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 5:49 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:37 pm Post

DavidR wrote:OK. As I said, I don't have any concrete suggestions, since I've never tried to do this. Actually, just to test I did try it, creating a small table and putting in background colors using the table properties dialog. It didn't crash for me, so not helpful for you.

You could report this in the bug report forum; there's a 9-year-old report there of something that might be similar, but surely ought to have been fixed by now. Honestly, though, since v. 3 is so far along and they're fully engaged in it, I doubt that it would get fixed. Hopefully v. 3 will have it sorted.

Wish I had more (or any) help to offer. Can you give more detail about how you create the tables and work with them? Perhaps someone more experienced with tables could give a suggestion.


i usually start with 2-4 columns (depending on the information i'm using the table for) and anywhere from 3-15 rows (depending on how many characters/events i plan on having). once the information is put in, then i try to fill in the cells with the colours that correspond to the pieces of information. but yeah, i'll try the bug report forum. thanks!