Scrivener won't open after closing without PC reboot

ka
katiej4823
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 8:26 pm
Platform: Windows

Sat Aug 10, 2019 8:34 pm Post

New to Scrivener. While still in trial mode and now after purchasing, often after I close the program I can't open it again without restarting my PC. I see the timer for a few seconds then nothing. Using Windows 10. Please advise. Thanks.

wi
wilsonch
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 3:25 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Aug 20, 2019 1:48 pm Post

I'm a long-time Scrivener user. I'm frequently experiencing the same problem.

I can't say that it happens every time. I tend to use Scrivener once a day and I often find when I start it up that it goes "not responding" and I have to reboot the PC to get it to work.

wi
wickiup
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 9:09 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Portland, Oregon area

Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:24 pm Post

Used Scrivener for years on this Win 7 machine now experiencing same no start attitude.
Delete program, download, reinstall, sometimes loads on start up and sometimes not.

Is this a version update thing or something else??

Not sure what has happened to the Scrivener we used to enjoy working with.

Strange the no response to issues now days.

Thank you

Jim

bw
bwhm
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:48 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:42 pm Post

I'm almost certain it has something to do with the software change when they switched their e-commerce provider to Paddle--I haven't been able to run Scrivener on my Win 7 laptop since then (it's continually "not responding"). The supposed "fixes" they've released have not resolved the issue. It's incredibly frustrating since I used to use my laptop almost 100% of the time, and now I have to run Scrivener on my desktop which has really cut down on my productivity (thankfully it still works on that computer!). I sure hope their next major release is free to all Windows users, since they really messed up with this one.

Ji
JimRac
Posts: 1213
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 2:06 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Tue Aug 20, 2019 11:50 pm Post

Folks,

While L&L does hang out here, these forums are mostly peer-to-peer support.

To communicate directly with L&L Support, submit a support ticket.

https://www.literatureandlatte.com/bug-reporting

Best,
Jim
I’m just a customer.

wi
wickiup
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 9:09 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Portland, Oregon area

Wed Aug 21, 2019 12:59 am Post

How far back in version updates does one have to go to avoid the "Paddle Effect?"
I am a long way from home and a working version and need a solution.

Thanks

Jim

User avatar
devinganger
Posts: 1654
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:55 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: Monroe, WA 98272 (CN97au)
Contact:

Wed Aug 21, 2019 2:15 am Post

wickiup wrote:How far back in version updates does one have to go to avoid the "Paddle Effect?"
I am a long way from home and a working version and need a solution.


You can't, really, because the old license service is no longer operating. Hence the need to upgrade to the version that uses Paddle instead of eSellerate.

Have you installed .NET Framework 4.5 runtime (or higher) on your machine? The new Paddle code requires a newer version of the .NET runtime than the rest of Scrivener 1.9.x.
--
Devin L. Ganger, WA7DLG
Not a L&L employee; opinions are those of my cat
Winner "Best in Class", 2018 My First Supervillain Photo Shoot

wi
wickiup
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 9:09 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Portland, Oregon area

Thu Aug 22, 2019 5:09 pm Post

devinganger wrote:
wickiup wrote:How far back in version updates does one have to go to avoid the "Paddle Effect?"
I am a long way from home and a working version and need a solution.


You can't, really, because the old license service is no longer operating. Hence the need to upgrade to the version that uses Paddle instead of eSellerate.

Have you installed .NET Framework 4.5 runtime (or higher) on your machine? The new Paddle code requires a newer version of the .NET runtime than the rest of Scrivener 1.9.x.

Yep, reloaded .NET Framework 4.52 and Scrivener opened once then kaput, no more.
Has anyone actually resolved this issue or do they just move on to something else??

Thanks
Jim

User avatar
devinganger
Posts: 1654
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:55 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: Monroe, WA 98272 (CN97au)
Contact:

Thu Aug 22, 2019 9:15 pm Post

Have you contacted technical support?
--
Devin L. Ganger, WA7DLG
Not a L&L employee; opinions are those of my cat
Winner "Best in Class", 2018 My First Supervillain Photo Shoot

wi
wickiup
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 9:09 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Portland, Oregon area

Fri Aug 23, 2019 10:55 pm Post

Go To Learn and Support
Go To Common Questions
Find Scrivener For Windows
Select "See All"
Look in Column on Left for Fixing "Not Responding" with Compatibility Settings
Select This Line and follow directions.

So far it has opened for me a number of times. YMMV

Jim

wi
wickiup
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 9:09 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Portland, Oregon area

Fri Aug 23, 2019 10:55 pm Post

devinganger wrote:Have you contacted technical support?

They are busy.

Jim

wi
wilsonch
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 3:25 pm
Platform: Windows

Wed Aug 28, 2019 2:36 pm Post

I reported it to support just now, enclosing a detailed error message from the License Manager.