Help! Downloaded update now Scrivener won't load

bi
billhiatt
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:59 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Jul 25, 2016 5:33 pm Post

Yes, having the last version available is a real lifesaver. What I can't understand is how an update that radically defective got out the door in the first place. Sure, I've had program updates with problems before, but seldom so bad that the program wouldn't open in the same operating system where the previous version was running perfectly well.

From now on, I'm not going to just automatically download the next version, as I have in the past.

It
Itman
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 3:36 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Tue Jul 26, 2016 3:44 pm Post

Hi,

it doesn´t work for me too on windows 8. I did the following: I installed the version 1.9 copied the .exe file to an other folder, installed 1.9.5.0, which doesn´t work, and replaced the .exe file with the old one. As version number it shows me version 1.9, but when I click the on the manual, it says 1.9.5.0, so at the end I don´t know which version I have, but it works well so far.
I hope the fix will come soon.

User avatar
kewms
Posts: 5434
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Tue Jul 26, 2016 4:37 pm Post

The 'About' command in the application itself is the canonical indication of the version number. The manual is a separate document; copying the old executable into the new folder, as you did, pretty much guarantees that the manual version won't match the executable version.

I spend most of my time on the Mac side of things, so I'm afraid I don't have much information about the status of the Windows 1.9.5 version.

Note, however, that Win Scriv 1.9 is NOT compatible with iOS Scrivener. If that matters to you, I'd suggest contacting the Windows support team about issues with 1.9.5, rather than merely reverting to the previous version.

Katherine
Scrivener Support Team

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 868
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Tue Jul 26, 2016 11:15 pm Post

Hi guys, sorry for the late reply on this thread, but we cannot reproduce this problem i.e. Scrivener not starting up. We only assume that it might be due to automatic conversion of the last open project upon startup. We would be very interested to receive some of your projects that Scrivener fails to load. If someone is ready to do so, please contact "windows.support at literatureandlatte.com" with the project that you think Scrivener fails to load and does not start.

To remove the last loaded project and force Scrivener to start clean(without loading the last available project), and you are brave enough to open the Registry Editor try the following:

1) Close Scrivener
2) Open the Registry Editor via running regedit.exe
3) Delete the following registry keys:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Scrivener\Scrivener\LastClosedProjects
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Scrivener\Scrivener\Recent
4) Run Scrivener again
5) Report the result after running Scrivener again.

Thanks, and looking forward for your feedback.

It
Itman
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 3:36 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Tue Jul 26, 2016 11:51 pm Post

Hi,

I did what you wrote, but it changed nothing.

sw
swingsetlife
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 10:01 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:47 am Post

I did this, also thinking this may be the problem at the beginning, once it opened I changed it to not auto-load. Future attempts didn't load.

User avatar
Aryadna
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 11:10 pm
Platform: Windows

Wed Jul 27, 2016 6:24 am Post

Deleting the registry entries did nothing. And... do you really want me to send you every one of my projects? Because none of them will open the program. I tried them all.

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 868
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Wed Jul 27, 2016 9:19 am Post

Thank You, guys. Sorry the last project registry trick did not help.

Can you please verify that you have no antivirus app running when you test starting Scrivener. Can you please also try running Windows in Safe Mode and run Scrivener in Safe Mode.

From the initial post and the comments, I got the impression that Scrivener v1.9.5.0 never starts. From the last few posts I get the impression that it starts, but fails to load some or all projects, but at least you get some Scrivener windows to interact with. Can you please confirm, that some of you get Scrivener windows(like the New Project Wizard), but fail to load any project?

If you ever get the "New Project Wizard", are you being able to create new Blank, new Tutorial, or any kind of project?

Thanks for the help, guys.

It
Itman
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 3:36 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:03 am Post

My problem is, that scrivener doesen´t open at all. Nothing happens when i click on the .exe
I tried to run scrivener in windows safe mode, but it doesn´t run.

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 868
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:52 am Post

Thanks Itman! Can you please try running Scrivener from command line with a "--log" argument. (i.e. run cmd, navigate to the Scrivener installation directory, and run "Scrivener.exe --log"). This should create a file %Scrivener_Instalation_Folder%/log/Scrivener-YYYYMMMDD-XXXXXX.log. If you attach the file to this thread, or send us the log file, hopefully we should see something useful within to trace this further.

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 868
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:58 am Post

Can you also try to check(disable) the High DPI aware settings: Scrivener.exe > Properties(Right Click) > "Disable display scaling on High DPI settings(checked) and restart Scrivener.

Also please try inside the same dialog: "Run this program in compatibility mode for:" Windows 8 for example and restart Scrivener.

Make sure your antivirus app is OFF, while testing this.

It
Itman
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 3:36 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Wed Jul 27, 2016 12:09 pm Post

Can you also try to check(disable) the High DPI aware settings: Scrivener.exe > Properties(Right Click) > "Disable display scaling on High DPI settings(checked) and restart Scrivener.

Also please try inside the same dialog: "Run this program in compatibility mode for:" Windows 8 for example and restart Scrivener.

Make sure your antivirus app is OFF, while testing this.


I tried this, but still nothing works.

(i.e. run cmd, navigate to the Scrivener installation directory, and run "Scrivener.exe --log"). This should create a file %Scrivener_Instalation_Folder%/log/Scrivener-YYYYMMMDD-XXXXXX.log.


For this I need your help. I open cmd an navigate to scrivener.exe. I just dragged the exe file into the command window. If i type after the exe in the command line log, nothing happens. But I think, I do it wrong.

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 868
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:15 pm Post

1) Open Admin Command Prompt
2) Navigate to the Scrivener installation folder. Default location is: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Scrivener"
Type inside the Command Prompt: cd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Scrivener"
3) Type inside the Command Prompt: "Scrivener.exe --log"
4) Check for the *.log file inside the "C:\Program Files (x86)\Scrivener\log" directory.
Last edited by tiho_d on Thu Jul 28, 2016 12:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

It
Itman
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 3:36 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:31 pm Post

Image

This is what I get. It says the command is wrong. I tried without the signs '' '', but nothing happend.

It
Itman
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 3:36 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:44 pm Post

I just tried it with the version 1.9 and it worked like you said. But nothing happens with 1.9.5 :(