Help! Downloaded update now Scrivener won't load

@m
@mpersand
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:32 pm
Platform: Windows

Wed Sep 28, 2016 9:34 am Post

Can't believe this is still going on. Really, you shouldn't have to do this. It's like sticking elatoplasts on a gaping wound! Ask yourselves: do you have any font problems with any other software you use? Unless you have damaged font files it is unlikely there is such a thing as a BAD FONT on your system -- only one or two that are incompatible with Scrivener's recent update. If L&L are seriously asking users to go through their font files (some people have hundreds, thousands even!) to weed out bogies there is something seriously wrong at the developer's end -- not the user's! Perhaps L&L might consider rolling out an update patch? Anyway, god knows what would have happened to my deadlines if I'd stopped to play with this thing... which reminds me...

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 1340
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Wed Sep 28, 2016 11:27 pm Post

Yes, a patch release is about to be released very soon. Meanwhile you can sort out the problematic font yourself, with the build we have provided, revert to a previous version of Scrivener, or wait for our patch release. Sorry that you still experience problems, caused by custom fonts. We are doing our best to avoid further problems with the next release.

Here are some more fonts, which might be causing you trouble with Scrivener 1.9.6.0: SigmundFreudTypeface1, SigmundFreudTypeface2, SigmundFreudTypeface3, SigmundFreudTypeface4, SigmundFreudTypefaceKurrent, and SigmundFreudTypefacePRO.

oc
ocardaugh
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:42 pm
Platform: Windows

Sat Dec 10, 2016 11:16 pm Post

I have none of the listed fonts installed on my system and the last font shown in the log is a system font that can't be removed. Now, I can only run Scrivener as an administrator. I'm running Scrivener 1.9.7 on a Windows 10 machine. This problem has only occurred after upgrading to v1.9.7.

CA
CASD57
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 3:19 pm
Platform: Windows

Sun Dec 11, 2016 4:25 am Post

Oh Boy this is still going on ???
I would figure you would bail on the across the board OS compatibility ....Since this is when the problem started.. Wouldn't that be the smart thing to do until you get a grasp on the problem ?
We paid for a product that works and is upgraded.....You are not fulfilling your part of the equation
Too bad, you won't get my $$$ in the future..

Wr
WrittenHard
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 3:03 am
Platform: Mac + Windows

Wed Dec 28, 2016 3:36 am Post

I'm experiencing this problem too but don't have any of the listed fonts on this computer (Win 7 Pro, SP1). Using the logging version of 1.9.6, the font loading progresses until it starts throwing an error "Warning: QSettings: RegEnumValue failed:" which repeats forever (until the program window reports "Not Responding" or you kill it with Task Manager). It starts throwing the error after a several warnings with this "Debug: No PostScript name for family: "GungsuhChe" as the last one, but that is a Windows protected system font which can't be deleted. I can provide the entire output up to until the RegEnumvalue error starts, but didn't want to paste the ~370 lines here in this thread.

---Editing this to bump after the holidays, so that hopefully someone from L&L will see and respond. Thanks.---

FWIW, I was licensed on Mac, then bought a Windows license as well to use on a Win laptop. Upgraded the previous trial install I had on it which is when the loading hang issue started. So far, due to this problem, I haven't been able to use the Win license I paid for.

cp
cpm5280
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 5:17 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Sat Jan 14, 2017 5:34 pm Post

WrittenHard wrote:...the font loading progresses until it starts throwing an error "Warning: QSettings: RegEnumValue failed:" which repeats forever...


I am seeing this with 1.9.7 (not just 1.9.6 & earlier) on Windows 7 x64. I get a blank, non-responsive New Project window and the logged output shows what is described above.
Last edited by cpm5280 on Sun Jan 15, 2017 4:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.

gl
glaedr
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:35 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Sun Jan 15, 2017 4:44 pm Post

I have literally hundreds of fonts and very little free time, so I haven't been able (and frankly, shouldn't have) to test every single font. But what I have tried so far has all failed. I'm still having to use the pre-IOS version. I understand that bugs happen sometimes, but this isn't a new thing. They've been aware of it since July and we don't even have a workaround.

Wr
WrittenHard
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 3:03 am
Platform: Mac + Windows

Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:52 am Post

Any chance there is a fix coming for this? Or at least some interaction and response in this thread?

User avatar
Jestar
Posts: 353
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:51 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:20 am Post

FWIW, I was able to load and use Scrivener by simply making a new user on my Windows box. This is definitely in the user profile on Windows, not sure if it is a file or registry error, however.
Win 10 Ent. 64-Bit 2004
Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3,4 GHz (Quadcore) 32 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB
NVIDIA Quadro K600
Scrivener Version: Version: 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019 & Version: 2.9.9.12 Beta (1120018) 64-bit - 25 Nov 2020

gl
glaedr
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:35 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Mon Apr 17, 2017 8:47 am Post

Any updates on this?

User avatar
Jestar
Posts: 353
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:51 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Sun Apr 23, 2017 9:28 pm Post

glaedr wrote:Any updates on this?


There is another thread going on that might be of help to you:
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=37655&p=232797
Win 10 Ent. 64-Bit 2004
Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3,4 GHz (Quadcore) 32 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB
NVIDIA Quadro K600
Scrivener Version: Version: 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019 & Version: 2.9.9.12 Beta (1120018) 64-bit - 25 Nov 2020

gl
glaedr
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:35 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Fri Jun 09, 2017 1:24 pm Post

Thanks for the information. Unfortunately, I don't have the time in between deadlines to mess around with the registry etc. to try to get it to work. A known bug that's been present for so long really should have an official fix by now.

cp
cpm5280
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 5:17 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:33 pm Post

glaedr wrote:A known bug that's been present for so long really should have an official fix by now.


Agreed. I've been checking the status of this thread and looking for an update occasionally, but am not holding my breath at this point. Expecting customers to spend valuable time fiddling with font files seems unreasonable to me, and at least on my system the fonts that are installed are installed for a reason. Disappointing.

gl
glosfor
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 9:55 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:45 pm Post

A known bug that's been present for so long really should have an official fix by now.


It's not just that they haven't fixed it. They haven't even responded to any of these posts. Is anyone even working on this anymore?

I don't have the time in between deadlines to mess around with the registry etc. to try to get it to work.


Some people have had luck just logging in as a different user. Still a pain, but might be worth a shot.

gl
glaedr
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:35 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:38 pm Post

This is ridiculous. This thread alone is almost a YEAR OLD. We are paying customers. And either we have to spend hours fiddling around with things and potentially making it worse, or we have to use an older, unpatched version which may not be secure. Not even to respond is just unacceptable.

I've PMed all of the moderators of this forum that accept them.