Where are the template files stored?

cg
cgray77
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 6:13 am
Platform: Windows

Mon Apr 18, 2016 10:14 pm Post

I want to do a completely clean reinstall of scrivener, so where are the template and other user files stored? Just uninstalling and reinstalling the program doesn't seem to eliminate those files.

Thanks!

Ja
James Fortune
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:08 am
Platform: Windows
Location: Surrey, England

Mon Apr 18, 2016 10:45 pm Post

Hi,

My template files are stored in:

C:\Users\James\OneDrive\Documents\Scrivener

and my backups are stored in:

C:\Users\James\AppData\Local\Scrivener\Scrivener\Backups

Does that help?
Warmest regards
James

James Fortune

cg
cgray77
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 6:13 am
Platform: Windows

Tue Apr 19, 2016 4:45 am Post

That's it, thanks!

User avatar
kewms
Posts: 6203
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Tue Apr 19, 2016 6:04 am Post

It would be sort of rude if upgrading your copy of Scrivener demolished your carefully constructed templates, wouldn't it?

That's the rationale for storing them separately from the application itself.

Katherine
Scrivener Support Team

cg
cgray77
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 6:13 am
Platform: Windows

Tue Apr 19, 2016 6:06 am Post

Oh, I agree. I'm having an odd glitch where it strips my templates of any internal text, but I've got so much work I haven't been able to do anything with it. I may be getting a break so I wanted to know where they were in order to do a complete reinstall from scratch.

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 8824
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:39 am Post

This can happen if you're creating your new projects in a synced or mirrored location like Dropbox or OneDrive; files can get locked when Scrivener is trying to extract the template files, causing the internal project structure ends up incorrect. We've fixed it for the next release, but for now you can work around it by pausing the sync temporarily when you create the project or by creating the project in a separate location and then moving it afterward.
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)