Page 1 of 2

Character sketch am i missing something?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:24 am
by JP715
Ok I am very new to the program and have watched some of the tutorials about the software. One thing is not really explained well to me, the character sketches. Every time I see a video about them I see a sheet of paper with basically categories listed where it seems the user just filled in the blanks. Every time I open a character sketch its just a blank piece of paper. Are there templates premade? Or do I have to actually make the categories and fill them up out myself? I don't really understand it.

Re: Character sketch am i missing something?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:09 am
by Briar Kit
On Mac Scrivener, if working from an applicable template (such as one of the novel templates), selecting:

> Project
> New From Template
> Character Sketch

…creates a new file with various prompts:

Character Name
Role in Story:
Occupation:
Physical Description:
Personality:
Habits/Mannerisms:
Background:
Internal Conflicts:
External Conflicts:
Notes:

The template is configurable, of course.

Not the same in Windows Scrivener?

Re: Character sketch am i missing something?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 10:06 am
by devinganger
Yes, it works much the same way in Scrivener for Windows as long as you've used the appropriate template to set up the project.

Re: Character sketch am i missing something?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 12:36 pm
by Sanguinius
Here are a couple character sheets that I use. Pretty sure I got them from this forum, but I could be wrong. I only know I like them.

Just drag them into your Research folder or import them like regular files. Duplicate for each character.

Re: Character sketch am i missing something?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 1:33 pm
by reepicheep
I found the default Character Sketch template (in the Mac version) to be rather vague. I created my own using various samples acquired via comments in the Character Cafe forum of NaNoWriMo. The default is less than one page of A4 when empty. My version is close to 40 pages when empty. It is required for every character or indeed for every novel but looking at it when creating characters does help to make important decisions.

I worked on it in a separate project and now drag-and-drop it from there to each novel's Binder when required placing it in the Templates folder. I could also create my own project template that includes my Character Sketch instead of the default. So far I have refrained from that as the formatting of my template itself isn't appealing.

The default Setting Sketch needs work too. I've not made a start on my own version yet.

Re: Character sketch am i missing something?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:15 pm
by JP715
i knew something ws wrong. everytime I try it starts out as a blank page, even the settings sketch, I don't know whats wrong

Re: Character sketch am i missing something?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:27 pm
by JP715
Briar Kit wrote:On Mac Scrivener, if working from an applicable template (such as one of the novel templates), selecting:

> Project
> New From Template
> Character Sketch

…creates a new file with various prompts:

Character Name
Role in Story:
Occupation:
Physical Description:
Personality:
Habits/Mannerisms:
Background:
Internal Conflicts:
External Conflicts:
Notes:

The template is configurable, of course.

Not the same in Windows Scrivener?

idk but I tried this and just ended up with a blank page

Re: Character sketch am i missing something?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 4:41 pm
by rdale
Maybe a picture will help clarify what's going on...

Does your binder contain a Templates folder and a Character Sketch document as shown in the screenshot below? Does the icon in the binder look the same? When you click on that document, does it look like what is in the editor in the screenshot?
Character Sketch.png
Character Sketch from Novel template
Character Sketch.png (54.97 KiB) Viewed 2243 times

Re: Character sketch am i missing something?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:08 pm
by JP715
rdale wrote:Maybe a picture will help clarify what's going on...

Does your binder contain a Templates folder and a Character Sketch document as shown in the screenshot below? Does the icon in the binder look the same? When you click on that document, does it look like what is in the editor in the screenshot?
Character Sketch.png


I'm looking at the same exact thing, except for mine pops up with a blank page everytime, ill send screenshot

Re: Character sketch am i missing something?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:14 pm
by JP715
Image

Re: Character sketch am i missing something?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:42 pm
by Briar Kit
Looks borked.

If you create a new test project, does that have the same blank template files?

If it does, I expect you need to reinstall Scrivener.

If it doesn't (and it has usable templates), you should be able to drag and drop the template(s) from one project to another, and then bin the test project when you've got everything that you need.

Re: Character sketch am i missing something?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:49 pm
by JP715
I reinstalled twice and opened new projects several times, it just always end up blank, i do not understand this problem and im waiting for technical support to email me back

Re: Character sketch am i missing something?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:52 pm
by Briar Kit
Hope they can help.

When you reinstalled, did you grab a fresh download of the latest build?

http://www.literatureandlatte.com/scriv ... atform=win

Re: Character sketch am i missing something?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:55 pm
by JP715
Briar Kit wrote:Hope they can help.

When you reinstalled, did you grab a fresh download of the latest build?

http://www.literatureandlatte.com/scriv ... atform=win



did that too, i dont see how my download can be so messed up.

Re: Character sketch am i missing something?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:58 pm
by Briar Kit
The tech people are usually very helpful. Hope one of them will come up with a solution for you.

Expect you could edit the files in the template folder to set them up as you want and then use them to create fresh files. Though the software should, of course, be working for you as it does for everyone else.