Do the individual panels undock

Ri
RickCT
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 12:11 pm
Platform: Windows

Fri Jul 03, 2015 12:22 pm Post

Is there a way to undock individual panels and move them.

More specifically, I would like to open the editing window to full screen and move the other panels such as synopsis, notes, corkboard etc. to my second monitor.

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 8960
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Tue Jul 07, 2015 2:00 pm Post

No, there's no way to detach sections as you're after. We have features planned for the next major version which should better accommodate a dual-screen setup, such as the ability to have a separate editor window and to open full screen on the secondary monitor.

It is possible now to open the inspector in full screen mode, which can show the synopsis or document notes for the current document; move the cursor to the bottom of the screen to bring up the control panel with the "i" inspector button to open this.
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)

Tr
Trent
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 11:36 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu Sep 03, 2015 11:49 pm Post

Any idea when this next version will be available?

I will likely buy given that the rest of Scrivener looks great but this omission keeps it from being an obvious choice. My mismatched monitors make stretching a single window awkward.

el
ellarien
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 11:07 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Fri Sep 04, 2015 1:38 pm Post

I've found (on Win8.1 and 10) that it's possible to get the full-screen editor on one screen and the main window on the other, by hitting the fullscreen button when the main window is straddling the two screens and then moving the window back to the other screen. It seems to be a little flaky, though, so I may be exploiting a bug rather than a feature.

User avatar
Sanguinius
Posts: 622
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 4:16 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Sep 08, 2015 1:57 pm Post

ellarien wrote:I've found (on Win8.1 and 10) that it's possible to get the full-screen editor on one screen and the main window on the other, by hitting the fullscreen button when the main window is straddling the two screens and then moving the window back to the other screen. It seems to be a little flaky, though, so I may be exploiting a bug rather than a feature.


All I can say is wow. If this is a bug, I hope it's never fixed. This is actual dual monitor usage for a single open project. I've been waiting for this for a while, and it's been brought up multiple times in the forums. What you've done is similar to an atheist discovering the proof of God by accidentally reading the Bible backwards.

fo
foolberry
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 5:48 pm
Platform: Windows

Sun Nov 22, 2015 5:49 pm Post

That is awesome. Just what I wanted!

An
AntoniaJ
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 1:33 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Thu Apr 07, 2016 1:56 pm Post

Thank you SO MUCH for this hack. :o
I also hope they never "fix" this if it is indeed a bug. Unless, of course, they disable it only to introduce a proper multi-monitor feature.

al
albertob
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 5:09 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Sep 06, 2016 5:12 pm Post

it is also possible to move the window by pressing the right or left arrow while holding WIN+SHIFT

to
tophee
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:59 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu Jun 21, 2018 4:32 pm Post

I just want to mention that this hack only does the job in certain specific situations, in particular only when you do not want to change the document you are editing in full screen (selecting a different document in the binder will not update the fullscreen). Also, if you have your two screens in different orientation (one landscape one portrait), things get uggly.

Long story short: I hope this feature request is still "planned" for version 3...

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 8960
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Sat Jun 23, 2018 11:23 pm Post

Yes, choosing the monitor for the composition mode editor on a multi-monitor set up is much easier to do properly in Scrivener 3. ;)

The binder never controls the composition mode editor, but you can use the Previous/Next Document shortcuts or the Go To menu button in the control bar to change documents in composition mode.
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)