Lock layout?

jo
joyousdance
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:25 pm
Platform: Windows

Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:10 am Post

Hi-
Everytime I try to scroll, I wind up changing the width of my main screen. Is there any way to lock the layout in place?

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24805
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Sun Jun 10, 2012 10:23 pm Post

Could you describe what buttons, keyboard keys, mouse inputs, etc. you are using? I've never had a case where I've attempted to scroll a data view and ended up shifting the layout, so I'm not sure if I follow what is happening here.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

jo
joyousdance
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:25 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:33 pm Post

I try and move the scroll thing for the main window, but grab it incorrectly and wind up changing the width of my main window. If I could lock it in place that would be very helpful.

jo
joyousdance
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:25 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:39 pm Post

Perhaps I should be more specific. When I say main window I mean the window I type my novel into. There is a scroll bar on the right side of that window. Any time I use my mouse to grab the scroll bar I somehow manage to grab it in just the right spot to shrink the width of the window instead of just scrolling up and down as I want to.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24805
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:38 pm Post

Isn't this something that is just universal to using a computer, then? Everything I know of that has a scrollbar on the right-side edge, and directly beyond that the window border zone where if you click and drag around within it, will resize the window horizontally in that direction.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

jo
joyousdance
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:25 pm
Platform: Windows

Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:15 am Post

This is true, but I never have this problem with other applications, and I do with this one for some reason. I don't know if it's just easier to grab and drag on this app, or if it's the positioning (since I usually have the inspector open), but I am continually grabbing it incorrectly. I just wanted to know if there was some sort of locking feature. If not, I will just deal with it.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24805
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Wed Jun 13, 2012 9:30 am Post

No, there isn't anything like that. You can save your window settings as a Layout (`View/Layout/Manage Layouts` menu) so that if it gets messed up you can return it to a state you prefer. This saves all kinds of settings, by the way, so it's useful for a lot of things.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

User avatar
robertdguthrie
Posts: 3075
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:06 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Contact:

Wed Jun 13, 2012 2:33 pm Post

It might be helpful to adjust to using the scroll wheel. I know some people (my wife, for instance), insist on dragging the thin bar up and down with the mouse, but the scroll wheel works anywhere in the area being scrolled (i.e. the mouse cursor can be in the middle of your text editing window), and so is loads easier to do. It works universally on all windows too.
Often wrong, rarely in doubt.
Time for a change... I'm now rdale; same dog-avatar, same dog... channel?

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24805
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:14 pm Post

Yeah, and if scrolling with the wheel goes too slow for you (something I often find the defaults are poor on) that can be tweaked in the mouse control panel. I only use the scrollbar for two things (a) to see where I am and how long the document is, and (b) direct jumping to a spot around where I know I need to go---and then I'm clicking instead of dragging the strip around, so that doesn't trigger any window resizing.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

jo
joyousdance
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:25 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:52 pm Post

Thanks for taking the time to respond to my question.

Ay
Aycae
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 10:19 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:08 am Post

Although a minor issue, I can confirm that the resize grip for the inspector panel is a bit over sensitive and resizes the panel most of the time when you try to move the text scrollbar with mouse. I could safely say most of the time, as my mouse does not have a scroll wheel and I can see this behaviour much too often to be a bit annoying -may be the snap area defined for the resize grip of the inspector panel is a bit too wide.

Cheers,
Ayca
Windows 7 x64 (main) -- Ubuntu 10.10 on VirtualBox + Mac OSX Leopard

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24805
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:18 am Post

Ah, I see what you mean now. I was thinking the external window frame and the scrollbar, which looks to be perfectly normal and like other programs to me. I see now you mean the internal frame where a scrollbar in either the binder or editor is adjacent to an internal frame resizer. Yeah, there is some drag zone overlap there. Honestly I wonder if these things ought not just be visible bars rather than single pixel lines. Take for example, Explorer. If the file browser tree on the left has a scrollbar, it doesn't suffer this problem because the split resizing tool has a visible width to the right of it. Not sure how else to resolve that. You need some invisible width to the drag zone with a single-pixel splitter, otherwise it is next to impossible to grab.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles