How do you use Timeline for really long events?

Ow
OwenRawlings
Platform: Mac

Sat Dec 17, 2011 5:54 pm Post

I've been using Timeline for nearly four months now. I'm wondering if other users have encountered this issue and how you deal with it.

Planning a series of crime fiction novels that cover a 70 year time period, I frequently find myself having to enter information about situations that last for years or even decades. The First world war would be an obvious example, but I also have characters whose marriages go through periods when they’re not living in the same house, let alone sleeping in the same room. Other characters are juggling multiple relationships, that last for years.

The consequence is that I end up having extremely long bars across the screen most of the time. Furthermore, at the point when there is a huge amount of different events being recorded - the events that actual make up the novel - these bars can end up in the middle of the screen and clog things up.

I suspect there's a way of using tags or the arcs that I've simply not seen. Any ideas??

Solutions I've tried so far, but am unhappy with are…
1) the one I've just described: setting up single events with very long durations. The advantage is that I just have to click on a long bar to be certain what event is still ongoing. The disadvantage is a clogged up messy screen.

2) setting up two separate events - a 'start and an 'end' that have no duration. The advantage is that I lose the long bar, but the problem is that I have to go searching around to find out where the new event I'm trying to enter comes in relation to the long-term event. For example, suppose a character is going to have a one night stand, it's relevant to know automatically if this is before or after the divorce is final.

Thanks in advance
Owen
Owen Rawlings, Ashopton, Nr Sheffield, Derbyshire

ma
matt

Sun Dec 18, 2011 4:14 pm Post