File recovery

Fl
Flakesobran
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 1:40 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Sat Oct 26, 2019 11:49 pm Post

Today I opened a file that I hadn’t used since July and was told that I needed to do file recovery on it. When this recovery was done, most of the content was either rearranged out missing outright.

I do know that when I was last using the file, I was working on my PC laptop, rather than my Mac.

Is there any way I can get the original content back?

kl
klemsaba
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 5:11 pm
Platform: Mac

Sun Oct 27, 2019 12:16 am Post

Check to see if you can find the automatic backup of your file.

Fl
Flakesobran
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 1:40 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Mon Oct 28, 2019 2:13 am Post

Same thing is happening with the back up files

As
Astaff
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 10:11 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS

Mon Oct 28, 2019 2:38 am Post

What versions are you running on PC and Mac?

Have you tried opening the project on the PC?

How did you transfer/synch the projects between the PC and Mac?

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 23992
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Mon Oct 28, 2019 2:45 pm Post

Do you mean the warning that is worded like this?

While the project was opening, files were detected within the project package that do not exist in the binder. This may have been caused by a permissions conflict, in which the file system refused the deletion of files from inside the .scriv package that had been deleted from the project binder, or by synchronization between different versions of the project (e.g. on a cloud service).

The recovered files can be found in the “Recovered Files” folder at the bottom of the binder.


If so, when you say they that stuff comes up incomplete or empty, are you referring to the contents of the “Recovered Files” folder? If so that may be nothing to worry about. Given the nature of what causes this kind of problem, this is even to be expected. These orphaned files may in fact be from much earlier revisions, that some cloud system duplicated into your project folder recently from an old device or something.

They are recovered in the off chance that your cloud software messed up and the duplicate copy is actually the better one than what ended up in the binder. But they are safe to delete if they are not useful to you.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles