Shortcuts problem under Catalina & 3.1.4 version

Da
Dandan
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 2:44 am
Platform: Mac

Mon Oct 14, 2019 2:52 am Post

Hi,
I have updated to Catalina and to Scrivener 3.1.4, but shortcuts (cmd-i, cmd-b, ...) still does not work.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24331
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:40 pm Post

As this generally works, you should try a few basic troubleshooting steps:

  1. Reinstall the software from a fresh download.
  2. Reset preferences.

Also verify that you’re using a good font for this kind of testing. Lucida Grande, for example, would lead you to believe the Italic command doesn’t work, when in fact it is working precisely as it should be since there is no such thing as Lucida Italic.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

Da
Dandan
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 2:44 am
Platform: Mac

Tue Oct 15, 2019 12:36 am Post

Thank you for you reply

I reinstall the software and reset preferences.

If I use Courier New, italic or bold shortcuts (cmd-i ...) does not work. But I can write in italic or bold if i use the toolbar, with the pointer. Shortcuts like cmd-c comd-v or cmd-, works well.

Just in case I tried a all new project, but no italic with Courier New with shortcuts.

But, if i use Palatino, the shortcuts works well (but I prefer to work with Courier New)

Sorry for my very bad english, I hope you understand me correctly.

Da
Dandan
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 2:44 am
Platform: Mac

Tue Oct 15, 2019 12:48 am Post

About my last post, I specify that if I use Courier New in Textedit, shortcuts for italic or bold, it works correctly.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24331
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:46 pm Post

Very strange, I just cannot get this to happen on my system, even using Courier New to follow along. I can use all four types of Courier (bold, italic, regular and bold+italic) from the keyboard alone.

You are right, TextEdit works fine. The bug itself makes no sense. We were doing things correctly according to the documentation. But they changed something without explaining it, and now that method does not work at all. So we switched to using another method in 3.1.4 that we should not have to use. It seems to work for most people (us included), but not everyone.

I wonder if localisation matters? What language do you have your Mac set to, and is Scrivener translated?
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

ZA
ZACK
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 9:23 pm
Platform: Mac

Wed Oct 16, 2019 1:19 pm Post

Hi,
All my environment is in french.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24331
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:27 pm Post

Great, thanks to both of you! That was the "hidden" ingredient that makes this happen. I tried setting my system to Portuguese, launched Scrivener, and now I cannot make italic Courier New text, just like you describe.

We'll have to take another look at this one.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

Da
Dandan
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 2:44 am
Platform: Mac

Wed Oct 16, 2019 11:57 pm Post

Hi,
Yes, I'm in french too.

I noticed that (in Courier New) CMD-U works.

And I noticed that when something is in italic (Courier New), then cmd-b works with this thing in italic. (Am I clear?)

ZA
ZACK
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 9:23 pm
Platform: Mac

Thu Oct 17, 2019 8:16 am Post

Great, Thanks Amber.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24331
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:38 am Post

It depends on the font, what works or does not. Sometimes you can make something bold by first italicising it, or vice versa. It is probably easier to just click the button for now though.

Underline is something else entirely. It does not change the font itself, it is more like adding colour to it, or changing its size. This bug has to do with how the shortcuts automatically select different related fonts from a family of fonts.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

Da
Dandan
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 2:44 am
Platform: Mac

Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:27 pm Post

AmberV wrote:It depends on the font, what works or does not. Sometimes you can make something bold by first italicising it, or vice versa. It is probably easier to just click the button for now though.

Underline is something else entirely. It does not change the font itself, it is more like adding colour to it, or changing its size. This bug has to do with how the shortcuts automatically select different related fonts from a family of fonts.


Thanks for your precisions.
I forgot to say, I dont know if it helps, but when I cmd-i, I hard the unpleasant sound system, that said you did something wrong.

Da
Dandan
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 2:44 am
Platform: Mac

Fri Oct 18, 2019 3:20 am Post

Hi,

I changed parameters in System Preferences, in "Language and Region " . I put Scrivener Apps in English.

And now, shortcuts works.

I'm not sure about the names of the menus (language and Region) because my environment is in french.

So Amber, you were right about localisation. It seems the cause of the trouble.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24331
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Fri Oct 18, 2019 10:41 am Post

Thanks for checking that out, it will be fixed in the next update.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

ky
kyh802
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 6:41 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Sat Oct 19, 2019 6:46 pm Post

I'm having the same issues, not being able to use shortcut keys to change fonts. I've set my language to English, but that didn't make a change.

AmberV wrote:Very strange, I just cannot get this to happen on my system, even using Courier New to follow along. I can use all four types of Courier (bold, italic, regular and bold+italic) from the keyboard alone.

You are right, TextEdit works fine. The bug itself makes no sense. We were doing things correctly according to the documentation. But they changed something without explaining it, and now that method does not work at all. So we switched to using another method in 3.1.4 that we should not have to use. It seems to work for most people (us included), but not everyone.

I wonder if localisation matters? What language do you have your Mac set to, and is Scrivener translated?

Da
Dandan
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 2:44 am
Platform: Mac

Sun Oct 20, 2019 11:36 pm Post

AmberV wrote:Thanks for checking that out, it will be fixed in the next update.


Hi,
I'have this message when I try to update.
My Scrivener does not run on a volum or disk image or optical drive. The application is in Applications folder. I relaunch 14 times.
I wonder more and more when I will be able to use CMD-I or CMD-B, besause it is very usful with a keyboard.

Erreur pendant la mise à jour!
Scrivener ne peut pas être mis à jour quand il fonctionne à partir d’un volume en lecture seule, comme une image disque ou un lecteur optique. Déplacez Scrivener dans votre dossier Applications, relancez-le à partir de là et réessayez.

Update Error!
Scrivener can’t be updated when it’s running from a read-only volume like a disk image or an optical drive. Move Scrivener to Applications folder using Finder, relaunch it from there, and try again.