A Note About Upgrading to macOS Catalina

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20716
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:40 pm Post

"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

Na
NamoNakiMichi
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2016 7:13 pm
Platform: Mac + iOS

Sun Sep 22, 2019 2:57 am Post

Is there a way to retrieve your license information from the Scrivener toolbar? If not, perhaps that would be a good thing to include in a future update.

Fi
Fitch
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 12:15 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Mon Sep 23, 2019 9:57 am Post

Just to see what would happen, I tried the applicable data retrieval link. It said I had no order history, though I've purchased Scrivener 1 for Windows, Scrivener 2 and 3 for Mac.

I have a pdf file of my license data, so I'm covered, but I thought you should know, the link for data retrieval did not work, at least in my case.

Fitch

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 23629
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Mon Sep 23, 2019 10:31 am Post

NamoNakiMichi wrote:Is there a way to retrieve your license information from the Scrivener toolbar? If not, perhaps that would be a good thing to include in a future update.


One would hope that this isn’t something anyone would have to do so often that they would require having a main application toolbar button for it! That said, you can access this page from the software, in the place where it would be more relevant from: the “Enter License” dialogue box.

Fitch wrote:Just to see what would happen, I tried the applicable data retrieval link. It said I had no order history, though I’ve purchased Scrivener 1 for Windows, Scrivener 2 and 3 for Mac.


Did you use the bottom entry field? The upper one will only work with purchases made through Paddle, and thus since the 26th of June, this year. I’ve run a search from this side, using your registered forum address, and I see all three of your purchases recorded. So it would be odd if the same database reported you had no entries via the email interface. But if you’ve double-checked both the email address and the field, and it’s still not working, feel free to get in touch with support. Maybe there is a newer address that is better to use or something. We can update your record.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

Na
NamoNakiMichi
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2016 7:13 pm
Platform: Mac + iOS

Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:40 pm Post

AmberV wrote:One would hope that this isn’t something anyone would have to do so often that they would require having a main application toolbar button for it! That said, you can access this page from the software, in the place where it would be more relevant from: the “Enter License” dialogue box.


Well, it's not that one would necessarily "require" it, but it would be easier just to be able to be inside Scrivener and go to the "About" field and see your information in case needed. Say, for reinstallation purposes and the like. I mean, I've changed my primary email probably 4 times since first purchasing Scrivener, and other programs, so sometimes it's hard to keep track of what I used and when I used it. Hell, if asked which email I'm currently registered with Scrivener, I probably couldn't tell KB, to save my life lol. Though, if it were in the "About" section, and I had an issue, I could just go to that section, grab the relevant information that I need, and then pop off a quick email to KB or Astrid and go on about my business as usual. In the end, it's all about ease of access, for me.

User avatar
popcornflix
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:18 pm
Location: Row 15 Seat 107

Mon Sep 23, 2019 8:47 pm Post

Fitch wrote:Just to see what would happen, I tried the applicable data retrieval link. It said I had no order history, though I've purchased Scrivener 1 for Windows, Scrivener 2 and 3 for Mac.


FWIW, it worked perfectly for me.
.:popcornFlix:.

Fi
Fitch
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 12:15 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Mon Sep 23, 2019 9:37 pm Post

AmberV wrote:
Fitch wrote:Just to see what would happen, I tried the applicable data retrieval link. It said I had no order history, though I’ve purchased Scrivener 1 for Windows, Scrivener 2 and 3 for Mac.


Did you use the bottom entry field?


I did. It said I had no order history, or something like that, when I tried about 5:00 AM East Coast time in the US. I tried again a couple of minutes ago and got an e-mail with all the right answers in it. I must have mistyped something. Anyway, it worked on the second try.

Fitch

User avatar
raindog308
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 9:42 pm
Platform: Mac

Tue Oct 08, 2019 5:23 pm Post

Upgraded to Catalina on my 2015 MBP and the license re-entry worked fine. I didn't see the blog entry first, so I didn't de-register before upgrade.

For my iMac, when I go to upgrade to Catalina, should I first de-register and then re-register after upgrade, or is the de-register not that important?

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 23629
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Tue Oct 08, 2019 6:08 pm Post

It’s a “would be nice if you’d done it” step, but you’ll be fine. Even if you some day run out of activations we can help you get things reset, through support.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

BJ
BJSteel
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:15 am
Platform: Mac

Tue Oct 08, 2019 6:14 pm Post

Hi
I upgraded Catalina to 10.15 19A583 this morning and once it had finished I went into Scrivener and it prompted me that I only had 30 days free trial and I needed to buy a license to continue permanently.
I have had a license for quite some time.
I put in the number but Scrivener would not accept it so I have sent an e-mail to paddle.com for support as referenced on the input screen.
I have not had a response yet saying they will get back to me, but when I do, I will post here what they said.
Thanks
Barry

Ys
Ysocks
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2019 10:04 pm
Platform: Mac

Tue Oct 08, 2019 10:12 pm Post

Just sent an hour upgrading to Catalina.
Now I have no access to scrivener.

I tried the site to access my licence, but of the three emails attempted non are recognised.

How do I go about accessing the extensive body of writing I have stored on this macair in my scrivener app?
Pretty important, as I'm mid novel.

User avatar
kewms
Posts: 5387
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Tue Oct 08, 2019 11:17 pm Post

If the license recovery page doesn't help, you can open a support ticket here:
https://www.literatureandlatte.com/contact-us

Katherine
Scrivener Support Team

rs
rsk
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2019 11:22 am
Platform: Mac

Wed Oct 09, 2019 11:29 am Post

Dear Support Team,

I just upgraded to Mac OS catalina and all hell broke lose!

First MIcrosoft office didnt work and then Scrivener too!

I am not able to use my scrinever post the upgrade and it says there needs to be a 64bit upgradation etc etc.... I have already paid a big amount for the licence and would appreciate if you all can help me get this started somehow.

Thanks in advance!

Best,
Raaj

User avatar
rdale
Posts: 1734
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 1:07 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Wed Oct 09, 2019 12:55 pm Post

If Mac OS says you have to upgrade to a 64 bit version of Scrivener, then that means you need to upgrade. You can get a significant discount for version three if you buy through this website (the Mac App Store doesn't accommodate upgrades).

https://www.literatureandlatte.com/upgr ... -for-macos
FKA: robertdguthrie
AKA: R Dale Guthrie, Robert, Mr. Obscure, and "Oh, it's you again".

User avatar
kewms
Posts: 5387
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:42 pm Post

rsk wrote:Dear Support Team,

I just upgraded to Mac OS catalina and all hell broke lose!

First MIcrosoft office didnt work and then Scrivener too!

I am not able to use my scrinever post the upgrade and it says there needs to be a 64bit upgradation etc etc.... I have already paid a big amount for the licence and would appreciate if you all can help me get this started somehow.

Thanks in advance!

Best,
Raaj


Scrivener 2 is not supported with any version of Mac OS after 10.12.

We have no control over Apple's decisions, including their decision to end support for 32-bit applications -- including Scrivener 2 -- in Catalina.

Katherine
Scrivener Support Team