How do I use Scrivener 3 with two authors

nw
nwconsulting
Platform: Mac

Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:33 am Post

Hi, I am new to Scrivener and the forum.

I have been working on a large document that has lots of folders and sections. I now need to pass the document to a co-author who is going to rewrite parts of what I have done whilst I need to continue to work on other parts of the document.

We both have Scrivener 3 on Mac, how can I do what I need.

Thanks

Nathan

Ki
Kinsey

Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:27 pm Post

There are several discussions regarding collaborating using Scrivener on the forum. Some of the advice might be slightly outdated now, however, as the refer to Scriv 2. Try these to start:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=37878

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=39018&hilit=collaboration

rdale
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS

Tue Jan 16, 2018 2:23 pm Post

Once, and once only, you can do a "save as" of a project, modify (or have someone else modify) that copy, and then merge that copy back with the original. After that point, you'd have to do a File->Save As again, pass it to your collaborator, and repeat the process. If they send you their updated version, you merge it with your copy, and then they send you another change made with the same copy they already passed back, you probably won't be able to merge the latest changes.

So,the steps are as follows:
  1. Set up your binder the way you want them to see it. It's best to avoid rearranging too much stuff in the binder during this process.
  2. File->Save As to create a duplicate. I recommend putting your collaborator's name or initials in the copy's name.
  3. Transport this other author's copy to them however makes the most sense. The next few steps make it easier to mail to them,or to share it with them... Ask for help if your sharing method will differ.
  4. Quit Scrivener or at least close that project.