promote/demote binder items with tab?

He
HelenF
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:46 am
Platform: Mac

Thu Dec 28, 2017 11:32 pm Post

Hello
I know how to promote/demote items in the binder, and I agree the existing shortcuts are very intuitive in terms of the system they use
http://www.literatureandlatte.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=37077&p=227487&hilit=promote+demote#p227487.

My problem is I am SO use to using tab/shift tab for this kind of thing (as I do in other outliners and as scrivener does with lists in documents)
http://www.literatureandlatte.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=41403&p=253603&hilit=promote+demote#p253603
that I am constantly making mistakes.

So I'd like to change the keyboard shortcuts just for promote/indent in binder to tab/shift tab.
I know how to change keyboard shortcuts in general - but since this one seems not to have a menu command (as far as I can see) I am not sure how to do it.

Can anyone help? Thanks in advance!

User avatar
nontroppo
Posts: 1067
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:22 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Airstrip One

Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:27 am Post

Edit▸Move▸ "Move Left" / "Move Right" are the menu commands you want to bind correct?

He
HelenF
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:46 am
Platform: Mac

Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:26 pm Post

Ha - so it is! Thanks I had overlooked that as the terminology is so different.

It works fine in the system prefs panel except as soon as I type the tab key in the shortcut field, it just moves focus to another input field (its global behaviour)!

Does anyone know if there is a way to refer to the tab key without typing tab? I tried ^t as a guess but that didn't seem to work.

Thanks again NonTroppo!

User avatar
nontroppo
Posts: 1067
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:22 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Airstrip One

Sat Dec 30, 2017 8:19 am Post

Does copy and paste of a tab character directly work (use context menu), or \t (probably not)?

⇥ is a special key so hard to enter. I do know BetterTouchTool can handle tab key rebinding, so that will work, but it is not a free app (but *very* useful and powerful and IMO worth the small $):

https://www.boastr.net/

User avatar
Monkiusz
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 9:56 pm
Platform: Mac

Sat Dec 30, 2017 10:33 am Post

+1. Every Mac user should buy & use BTT.

User avatar
nontroppo
Posts: 1067
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:22 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Airstrip One

Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:18 am Post

BetterTouchTool does works to rebind [Shift]Tab to Move in Scrivener 8) :
Screen Shot 2017-12-30 at 19.19.24.png
Screen Shot 2017-12-30 at 19.19.24.png (7.01 KiB) Viewed 1276 times

User avatar
gr
Posts: 1727
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:57 am
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Florida

Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:39 pm Post

HelenF,

In Mac sys prefs, you can hold the fn key down while hitting Tab in order to specify Tab as a shortcut trigger.

gr
gr : Scrivener user : not affiliated with Lit^Lat
Image
"Nothing, like something, happens anywhere." —Philip Larkin

He
HelenF
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:46 am
Platform: Mac

Fri Jan 05, 2018 12:27 am Post

Thank you! Yes that does the trick for writing the tab key in the dialogue box.
However it does not solve the problem. I think this is because the TAB key is already co-opted for moving the focus to the next dialogue box. So even after setting the keyboard shortcut, when you hit TAB all that happens is the focus moves from the binder to the editor.
I suspect this means it is impossible to do what I want (use TAB/SHIFT-TAB for promote/demote binder items).
However if anyone has another suggestion I would sure love to hear it. It seems like a small thing, but it is amazing how much it slows me down.
Thanks again for all suggestions!
Helen

User avatar
nontroppo
Posts: 1067
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:22 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Airstrip One

Fri Jan 05, 2018 2:06 am Post

BetterTouchTool does do this properly, and I verified it works in Scrivener's binder...

Online
User avatar
lunk
Posts: 2837
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:24 pm
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Sweden 64° N

Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:35 am Post

I think you must re-assign another shortcut, not previously used, to the ’shift focus’ operation first.
I am a user, writing non-fiction and science, using:
* Mac Scrivener 3 on a Macbook 12”, MacBook Pro 13”, and iMac 27”, all running the latest MacOS
* iOS Scrivener 1 on an iPhone 8, iPad Air 9.7”, and iPad Pro 12.9”, all running the latest iOS

He
HelenF
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:46 am
Platform: Mac

Mon Jan 08, 2018 1:04 am Post

Yes NonTroppo you are right - using Better Touch Tool makes it work exactly the way I want.
Thanks a million - and also to other contributors.
Helen