Does v3 change file format from v2? Can I downgrade if v3 not stable?

ml
mlondon
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:32 pm
Platform: Mac

Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:12 pm Post

Hi,

Longtime Scrivener user here. Happy to see v3, but concerned about the integrity of my data. Does v3 change any of the underlying data files? Can v2 open a project which has been saved in v3?

I usually wait for the .1 or .2 release of software to upgrade, but would like to dive in to v3 right away. But only if it is stable and I can revert if there are problems.

Thank you...

User avatar
Merovech
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 2:54 am
Platform: Mac
Location: Virginia, USA
Contact:

Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:17 pm Post

There's an Export As Scriv 2 option. So, I think it's safe to say you can recover.

User avatar
xiamenese
Posts: 4370
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:32 am
Platform: Mac
Location: London or Exeter, UK.

Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:21 pm Post

When you open a v2 project in v3, it makes a backup of the v2 project. In a post of a few days ago, KB said that the release version 3 will be able to export projects into v2 format and will be then able to re-import them, to help people who have to work between Mac and Windows before Windows v3 is available. I haven't tried it, but that should solve your issue.

On the other hand, as one of the beta testers for the last 11 months, for me, Scrivener 3 has been completely stable with no sign of a crash/hang or whatever.

Mark
The Scrivenato sometimes known as Mr X.
iMac 27" (late 2015) 10.15.4, 24GB RAM, 512GB SSID
MBP17" (late 2011) 10.13.6, 16GB RAM, 2TB SSID
2017 iPad, iPadOS 13.3, 128GB, Apple Pencil
Scrivener, Scapple, Nisus Writer Pro, Bookends …

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24286
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:33 pm Post

You get a whole new demo period with 3.0, so you can give it a spin for a while and see whether or not it is ready for you, too. As noted above, there are ample methods for stepping back to v2 should you need to.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

ml
mlondon
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:32 pm
Platform: Mac

Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:37 pm Post

All sounds good. Thank you and will upgrade today!

bo
bocce341
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 4:23 pm
Platform: Windows

Sat Dec 29, 2018 8:52 pm Post

Looks like I arrived late to the party for this question. I was out of town when the beta ended before I could convert. Is there a tool version available to downgrade my project back to v2?

Let me know, Thanks!

P.S. beta looked good. Only issue I found (can't autosave spelling that includes 'é') appears to have been spotted by others earlier. Looking forward to release (but would like to continue working on my novel until then)!

User avatar
lunk
Posts: 4091
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:24 pm
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Sweden 64° N

Sat Dec 29, 2018 10:15 pm Post

bocce341 wrote:Looks like I arrived late to the party for this question.

You do know that this thread was about the Mac version, released last year?
I am a user, writing non-fiction and science, using:
* Mac Scrivener 3 on a Macbook 12”, MacBook Pro 13”, and iMac 27”, all running Mojave.
* iOS Scrivener 1 on an iPhone 11 Pro, iPad Air 9.7”, and iPad Pro 12.9”, all running the latest iOS

bo
bocce341
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 4:23 pm
Platform: Windows

Sun Dec 30, 2018 5:30 pm Post

lunk wrote:
bocce341 wrote:Looks like I arrived late to the party for this question.

You do know that this thread was about the Mac version, released last year?


I figured it was related rather than starting a new thread, but I can do that now.