Preferences/Editor question

li
lindywarrell
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:50 am
Location: Australia

Thu Jun 26, 2014 12:13 am Post

Hi, I was just looking around in Scriverner/preferences/editor pane this morning and cannot see how I can change pixels to cm...my brain doesn't understand pixels as a size or measurement of size.
Lindy

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24190
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Thu Jun 26, 2014 12:33 am Post

Pixels aren't really a unit of measurement, they are more like "dots" in printing process. The pitch of the dot is often going to be different depending on the printing equipment that is being used. In the same way, nearly every computer display has a different "dot pitch" in that its pixels are larger or smaller, physically speaking, than other displays. On a really old monitor, 72 pixels would span an inch, but on something like a modern iPhone there are more than three *hundred* pixels packed into every inch-long line.

At any rate, there are certain settings in Scrivener that use pixels, because a static real-world unit of measurement wouldn't make sense to the software. It's a bit abstract, but note that you can change a number, tab out of the field, and it will update the software immediately. So you can find a nice look without too much hassle.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles