Quicksilver doesn't open Scr files

User avatar
valente.mac
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 10:50 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Algarve, Portugal

Fri May 25, 2007 12:08 pm Post

Hi there,

Ever since I updated to 1.04 beta (anf then 1.05), Quicksilver doesn't recognize my Scr files. It launches Scrivener as a aplication, but not the files if I search for them. I tried repairing permissions and deleting QS .plist but nothing changed. Has anyone been having the same problem?

-- MJ

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24407
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Fri May 25, 2007 1:50 pm Post

QuickSilver locates the Scrivener Project files, but when you activate they do not load? I use LaunchBar instead of QuickSilver, and it seems to be working just fine; with Scrivener opened and closed. I happen to have QS hanging around though, so I tried that and it seems to be working just fine too. When you "Get Info" on a Scrivener project, is it listed as being associated with Scrivener? Is the non-beta version still in the Trash? Does double-clicking in the Finder open them?

I have seen problems like this before; and it is usually because I have two copies of the application hanging around and "fighting" over who gets the files. If one is unable to actually open the files (in the Trash), then nothing happens. Typically, emptying the trash, logging in and out and then setting the documents to all open in the proper version of the troublesome application are all that is needed to fix the problem.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

User avatar
valente.mac
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 10:50 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Algarve, Portugal

Fri May 25, 2007 2:42 pm Post

Hi, Amber --

QuickSilver locates the Scrivener Project files, but when you activate they do not load?

QS locates the program. And it locates the files if I look inside a folder. But it does not locate the projects themselves directly. It did when I was using 1.03, but not since then. (All this either Scr. is opened or closed.)

I happen to have QS hanging around though, so I tried that and it seems to be working just fine too.

Hm. This means it must be my problem then. Dang!

When you "Get Info" on a Scrivener project, is it listed as being associated with Scrivener?

Yes.

Is the non-beta version still in the Trash?

If you mean the .app. No, it's not. If you mean the files backup automatically made by the new beta .app -- yes they are still around at the side of the new generated one.

Does double-clicking in the Finder open them?

Yes.

Maybe I should delete QS and re-install it. However, I'll wait a little to see if there's more feedback of the list about this.

Thanks,

-- MJ

ka
kastorff
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:11 pm
Location: Kenton, TN USA

Fri May 25, 2007 3:25 pm Post

I'd rebuild the Launch Services DB before I did anything drastic with QS; especially if you have a lot of customization/tweaks in QS. The Launch Services framework tracks what applications are installed, and what documents they can open.
Keith Kastorff

mp
mpaul
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 4:24 am
Platform: Mac
Location: Sacramento, California

Fri May 25, 2007 4:28 pm Post

If you go to Quicksilver Preferences, and check your catalog listing for the Scrivener items you're searching (by clicking on the "I" in the lower right-hand corner), you may find that you've clicked the "omit source item" button. Since Scrivener files are really packages, this would end up cataloging the files in the package, but not the Scrivener wrapper, which is what you want to launch.
Cheers,

Mark

User avatar
valente.mac
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 10:50 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Algarve, Portugal

Fri May 25, 2007 7:14 pm Post

mpaul and kastorff --

Thanks for your input. None solved the problem. I even reinstalled QS and still nothing. I'm posting this on QS forum... maybe someone there has any other idea of what is happening.

However, I still am bugged by the notion that all this started after installing the betas.

-- MJ

User avatar
valente.mac
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 10:50 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Algarve, Portugal

Fri May 25, 2007 8:09 pm Post

I think I solved the problem (there's still one project that is not indexed, but all the others are). I had to uninstall Scr (and plist etc) and reinstall it again from scratch (the beta).

Much happier now, even if one of the projects is still not working there.

-- MJ

da
dagaz
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 8:46 am
Location: Murwillumbah, Australia

Fri May 25, 2007 10:00 pm Post

Glad to see you got it (mostly) working. JFYI I have had no problems opening Scrivener files with Quicksilver.