How Do I Create A Link To A Figure/Image?

wr
writterblock
Platform: Mac

Mon Mar 19, 2012 4:38 pm Post

I'm new to Scrivener. I've read the user manual and watched several of the tutorials, but I'm still not sure on this.

How do I create a link in the text I'm writing to link to text elsewhere?

As an example, I'd like to reference a figure/table/image.

"See figure 1.1"

Where "1.1" would be a link to the text that is used to title figure 1.1.

I'd like for this work in an eBook and/or PDF compile.

Thanks.

wr
writterblock

Wed Mar 21, 2012 2:37 pm Post

Well, there seems to be some interest in this topic, based on the number of views.

However, no responses. (not counting this one)

So, either this is something people are interested in doing, but don't know how to do it. Hence the lack of any responses.

Or, everyone already knows how to do this and they just stop by here to smile at the lost new guy who read the manual, watched the tutorials and still can't figure it out.

If you fall into the latter, you will be delighted to know, I'm still lost and would still like to be shown the way.

robertdguthrie

Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:00 pm Post

It's certainly not that people are pointing and laughing at the new guy. I, for one, am curious about what people are asking, and then I check in when I see a response to see what I can learn.

On this subject, I know next to nothing, but I can at least provide some hints.

First, there are the placeholder tags as they're called. You can see a list of them by selecting the appropriate option under Help. There are ways that you can have "named" tags that increment separately from other, similar tags, so you could, for instance, have your chapters numbered in your compile settings using the <$w> tag, and then figures could reflect that number (somehow... I don't know how to do that).