Scrivener and Alphasmart

User avatar
StaceyUK
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:00 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS

Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:57 pm Post

I really like the default Alphasmart Neo font. The 3-4 lines one. Really would like to use it on my laptop for writing in Scrivener as it is really clear to see. What's the closest alternative for Windows OS? Bear in mind that I am on a tight budget.

Thanks in advance.
Blessings, Stacey

System Specs

[b]Windows 10
Scrivener 1.9.7 / 2.8 /3.0.3/1.1.5 (1301)
Scapple 1.0.0.0
Windows 2.9.9.17 Beta

cr
crimewriter
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:47 am
Location: Cotswolds

Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:02 pm Post

Well, I've just checked in my handbag, Stacey, and I reckon it's standard Post Office Till Receipt 14pt. :shock:

cw
Some quiet night when you've shirked your work because of fatigue or distraction, open a window of your house and listen. Do you hear that distant clicking sound? That's one of your competitors, pecking away at his keyboard in Paris or London or Erie, PA

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24887
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:08 pm Post

Searching for ancient bitmapped fixed width fonts will probably unearth some equivalents. The tricky part will be anti-aliasing. Even if you find a good font for this, the OS might try to smooth it over and reduce the retro clarity of it.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

User avatar
StaceyUK
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:00 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS

Wed Dec 15, 2010 3:05 pm Post

crimewriter wrote:Well, I've just checked in my handbag, Stacey, and I reckon it's standard Post Office Till Receipt 14pt. :shock:

cw


Ha ha that made me laugh. :D Thanks.
Blessings, Stacey

System Specs

[b]Windows 10
Scrivener 1.9.7 / 2.8 /3.0.3/1.1.5 (1301)
Scapple 1.0.0.0
Windows 2.9.9.17 Beta

User avatar
StaceyUK
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:00 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS

Wed Dec 15, 2010 3:21 pm Post

AmberV wrote:Searching for ancient bitmapped fixed width fonts will probably unearth some equivalents. The tricky part will be anti-aliasing. Even if you find a good font for this, the OS might try to smooth it over and reduce the retro clarity of it.


Thanks Ioa.
Blessings, Stacey

System Specs

[b]Windows 10
Scrivener 1.9.7 / 2.8 /3.0.3/1.1.5 (1301)
Scapple 1.0.0.0
Windows 2.9.9.17 Beta

Ge
Geef
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:09 am
Platform: Mac

Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:33 pm Post

I did not upgrade to Lion yet but this week I downloaded five of the Apple software updates. Today when I tried to send over my text via usb the customary select-your-keyboard assistant did not show. I tried pressing Send anyway but nothing happened.

Of course this could be just something peculiar to my system. I'm looking into this more today and will post updates.

cr
crimewriter
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:47 am
Location: Cotswolds

Sat Jul 23, 2011 8:18 pm Post

I've just sent a test-file from AlphaSmart to Scrivener via USB and it worked perfectly, as always. I'm using Leopard with all the latest updates. Hope you manage to sort it out, Geef.

cw
Some quiet night when you've shirked your work because of fatigue or distraction, open a window of your house and listen. Do you hear that distant clicking sound? That's one of your competitors, pecking away at his keyboard in Paris or London or Erie, PA

In
InklingBooks
Posts: 507
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:16 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Auburn, AL USA
Contact:

Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:52 pm Post

I did not upgrade to Lion yet but this week I downloaded five of the Apple software updates. Today when I tried to send over my text via usb the customary select-your-keyboard assistant did not show. I tried pressing Send anyway but nothing happened.


I've upgraded to Lion too, and I just hooked my AS-3000 up. There weren't any problems transferring text, not even the usual fumbling keyboard install silliness. There was no keyboard install prompt. The text just went through when I pushed Send. That must mean that my version of Lion remembered this keyboard from Snow Leopard.

One suggestion. I used the latest version of Migration Assistant, one just released for Lion, when I upgraded. If you've not done that, you might want to try it. There might be one obscure little file that tells OS X about this keyboard. Migration Assistant knows about that sort of thing.

If Lion itself has a problem seeing AS keyboards, I'm not sure what we can do if we get a new Mac with Lion. Someone who has one of the new Macs that ships with Lion might want to check that out. If it doesn't install the keyboard, file an OS X bug report at:

http://www.apple.com/feedback/

Stress that a lot of schools use Alphasmarts.

--Michael W. Perry, Untangling Tolkien

User avatar
StaceyUK
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:00 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS

Thu Jan 24, 2013 4:25 pm Post

I'm having trouble getting the Neo Manager to recognise my Neo 2. I've updated to the latest version and installed 64 bit drivers but I'm having no luck.

I've filed a support request with Renaissance Learning but has anyone else run into this problem, and can offer suggestions?

Thanks. I'm a bit stumped.
Blessings, Stacey

System Specs

[b]Windows 10
Scrivener 1.9.7 / 2.8 /3.0.3/1.1.5 (1301)
Scapple 1.0.0.0
Windows 2.9.9.17 Beta

Hu
Hugh
Posts: 2444
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 12:05 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: UK

Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:09 pm Post

Hi Stacey,

It's a good while since I've used my Neo. But from what I remember, you don't have to use Neo Manager (and some Neo users used to recommend that you didn't). I seem to recall that there's a simple procedure for 'printing' from the Neo to applications such as Scrivener via a USB cable. I remember that this was quite a cool procedure: the words from the Neo appeared in Scrivener at a satisfactorily fast typing speed. I expect there may be more in Scrivener threads from two or three years back, when Neos were more popular, or in posts on the Alphasmart user group on flickr: http://www.flickr.com/groups/alphasmart/

Edit: hmm, this was in the days before Scrivener for Windows, and so I was using a Mac - but even so, I'd be surprised if the procedure didn't work with PCs. The computer 'sees' the Neo purely as a keyboard.

H
Last edited by Hugh on Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
'Listen, some quiet night, when you've shirked your work that day. Do you hear
that distant, almost inaudible clicking sound? That's one of your
competitors, working away in the night in
Paris or London or Erie, PA.'

User avatar
StaceyUK
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:00 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS

Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:11 pm Post

Thanks Hugh. I am aware of sending text this way.
Blessings, Stacey

System Specs

[b]Windows 10
Scrivener 1.9.7 / 2.8 /3.0.3/1.1.5 (1301)
Scapple 1.0.0.0
Windows 2.9.9.17 Beta

User avatar
StaceyUK
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:00 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS

Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:23 pm Post

Problem is now fix as Windows fixed it and installed it correctly during trouble shooting.
Blessings, Stacey

System Specs

[b]Windows 10
Scrivener 1.9.7 / 2.8 /3.0.3/1.1.5 (1301)
Scapple 1.0.0.0
Windows 2.9.9.17 Beta