The law

li
liamh

Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:51 am Post

I've been using Scrivener for a couple of years now for my personal writing. I am a lawyer, for my sins, and about a month ago I decided to use Scrivener to help me compile a complicated witness statement in a litigation claim. It's been a revelation; it's almost as if Scrivener were designed to be used by trial lawyers. What I have found useful are:

- the ability to import pdf files of evidence directly into research folders and refer to them - in split screen mode - as I write;
- the ability make notes on the scratchpad, document and project notes on the fly; and
- to be able to compile the draft as a witness statement and to export selected pdfs to make up final draft for service along with an exhibit of documents centrally (whilst preserving my working notes on the documents for later use in court),

I feel like I have just scratched the surface.

KB
Site Admin
Platform: Mac

Mon Sep 14, 2009 1:24 pm Post

Hi,

Thanks for posting your feedback on how you use Scrivener for your legal work. We have a few lawyers using it, it turns out - in fact we're doing a profile of an attorney who has talked about Scrivener and how he uses it quite a lot soon, and we want to get onto the web page about how it can be used by different types of writers, including lawyers, with a breakdown of the different things that may be useful for each on there, so your feedback here is really useful.

Thanks again!
All the best,
Keith

ta
tammycravit

Tue Nov 03, 2009 8:24 pm Post

Just thought I'd jump in here and add a "me too". I'm a paralegal, not an attorney, but in addition to using Scrivener for my creative writing projects, I'm starting to use it for my legal work as well.