Live Instruction?

TS
TSHGM
Platform: Windows

Fri May 15, 2020 7:49 pm Post

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to Scrivener and am struggling with the manual and online tutorials. I find that critical steps are often skipped. For example, some tutorials kept saying to click "draft." I could not find draft for days. Finally, I found a video in which someone explained that you have to rename a folder to "draft." Not very helpful and very frustrating for days.

Is there someone out there who teaches this stuff live? By phone or in person or something? Pouring through endless tutorials and text to arrive at no answer after a week is getting tedious. I'm sure someone who is familiar with the program could walk me through everything I want to know in less than half an hour.

Is such a service available?

Thank you,

Mickey

lunk
Platform: Mac + iOS

Fri May 15, 2020 8:23 pm Post

Have you done the interactive tutorial built into Scrivener? It explains all the basic parts.
I am a user, writing non-fiction and science, using:
* Mac Scrivener 3 on a Macbook 12”, MacBook Pro 13”, and iMac 27”, all running Mojave.
* iOS Scrivener 1 on an iPhone 11 Pro, iPad Air 9.7”, and iPad Pro 12.9”, all running the latest iOS

TS
TSHGM

Fri May 15, 2020 8:50 pm Post

Thanks Lunk.

I'll give it a try. I'm trying to figure out the best way to outline before I get too far into it. I imported an outline and chapters from Word. Now I wonder if I've gotten too far ahead of myself. Thanks for the tip. Was taking a break on tutorials for the day.

Mickey

TS
TSHGM

Fri May 15, 2020 10:17 pm Post

Hi Lunk,

Not so helpful. It's one of the sources that mislead me on "draft" for days. I did look at this early on. Information overload with little "how-to" gleaned.