Outline complete; can I view it while writing the novel?

Ca
Cat4
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 2:55 am
Platform: Mac

Tue Mar 24, 2020 3:02 pm Post

I've written the novel's outline. Does scrivener haver a setting that keeps the outline in view whilst we type the actual manuscript? What's the best way to do that?
Thanks!

User avatar
krastev
Posts: 510
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:21 am
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Tue Mar 24, 2020 4:00 pm Post

Open the Otline in split view and the file you edit in the second editor.

Regards,
M
Krastev
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.16.0
Testing Scrivener Beta for Windows

Ca
Cat4
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 2:55 am
Platform: Mac

Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:49 am Post

THX Krastev. In split view, is there a way I can write and not affect the existing outline in the split panel?

User avatar
gr
Posts: 2173
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:57 am
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Florida

Wed Mar 25, 2020 2:16 pm Post

You can lock either editor view (so it’s content does not get changed out when you click around in the binder).

If you have been using scriv’s outline function to outline, then your Binder is already a representation of your outline, so there is that too. I generally am setting in with a mix of binder-structure outline and within-document outline text. So, in my case the Binder shows all the overview outline I need.

gr
gr : Scrivener user : not affiliated with Lit^Lat
Image
"Nothing, like something, happens anywhere." —Philip Larkin

User avatar
krastev
Posts: 510
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:21 am
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Wed Mar 25, 2020 2:22 pm Post

If I understand your question right you can Lock in Place one of the editors and View -> Binder Affects -> Right Editor.

The two arrows button at the bottom of the Outline View allows you to turn on and off the Automattically open selection in the other editor pane option.

This way, you'll have access to the binder and the outline, and use them for navigation or reference.

Edit: Oops, @gr writes faster than me :)
Krastev
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.16.0
Testing Scrivener Beta for Windows

User avatar
rdale
Posts: 1988
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 1:07 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Wed Mar 25, 2020 2:31 pm Post

You might like to check out scrivener 3's built-in layouts (Window->Layouts menu). There are some nice setups there.
FKA: robertdguthrie
AKA: R Dale Guthrie, Robert, Mr. Obscure, and "Oh, it's you again".

Ca
Cat4
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 2:55 am
Platform: Mac

Fri Mar 27, 2020 4:17 pm Post

Thank you all so much for your input.
You're awesome!
Yeaaaa

Ja
Jack Daniel
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:54 pm
Platform: Mac

Sun Mar 29, 2020 8:50 pm Post

krastev wrote:
Edit: Oops, @gr writes faster than me :)


Be that as it may, you have answered my question, which is 'can you lock just one of the splits?'.

Ji
JimRac
Posts: 1589
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 2:06 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Sun Mar 29, 2020 11:08 pm Post

Jack Daniel wrote:
krastev wrote:
Edit: Oops, @gr writes faster than me :)


Be that as it may, you have answered my question, which is 'can you lock just one of the splits?'.
Ctrl-Shift L (for lock) is one of my most common key sequences lately. That will lock/unlock an editor in Windows, and probably same key combo works on Mac as well.
I’m just a customer.