Writing Tool for Programmer

bp
bparanj

Fri Feb 01, 2008 8:11 pm Post

Hello, I am a programmer and writing includes code snippets. I am finding it difficult to use the empty template. It lacks code formatting. Is there any template that I could use?

AmberV
Platform: Mac + Linux

Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:07 am Post

Do you happen to use TextMate? If you do, and are still on Tiger or a version of Leopard that still supports input managers, you could see about installing the Edit in Textmate plug-in which would let you select a document in Scrivener, choose that option from the Edit menu, and then have full access to TM's code support. Saving in TM will update Scrivener.

If you are looking for full code format export in Scrivener, though, you won't find it. The best you can do is put your code snippets in their own Scrivener documents, and make sure to check the "Preserve Formatting" option in the Inspector. Then you can apply whatever font/colour/rule attributes you wish and they will not be wiped out when compiling the draft.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

bobueland

Thu Feb 07, 2008 8:45 am Post

AmberV wrote
...still on Tiger or a version of Leopard that still supports input managers

If you have Leopard then you have to use Terminal to get things to work. Check
http://blog.macromates.com/2007/inputma ... n-leopard/

Essantially you have to enter the following commands in the Terminal
# Remove old version
rm ~/Library/InputManagers/Edit\ in\ TextMate

# Create InputManagers folder
sudo mkdir /Library/InputManagers

# Copy the input manager to /Library
sudo cp -pR /Applications/TextMate.app/Contents/Resources/Edit\ in\ TextMate /Library/InputManagers

# Ensure everything is owned by root
sudo chown -R root:admin /Library/InputManagers

After you've done things described there, start Scrivener (or any other Cocoa App) and the menu item “Edit in TextMateâ€
Don't be a sissy, don't be a snob. Post a reply to Ueland Bob.