Tracking Research Elements in Narrative

Hi
HiyaKath
Platform: Mac

Mon Dec 21, 2015 7:25 pm Post

Hello, I am a new poster although long time lurker of these forums. I've been using Scrivener for two years and feel I've only scratched the surface of its capabilities.

I love reading about how others have organized their work; it always gives me food for thought about my own projects. I'm looking for ideas from others - best practices, or perhaps showing me features of Scrivener I haven't yet discovered - to handle my problem.

I have an ongoing fiction project that compiles out to around 1500 pages at the moment. There are elements of my world building that I realize are still only in my head, so even though I've written things based on those ideas, without the benefit of being in my head a reader may not see the full picture. I've tried to expand my research folders/files to include as many details as I've defined. But now I need some way to track if I've managed to incorporate this information into the narrative in some way or if I need to add to or augment what is already there to be more clear. (Or to see if I've been completely consistent in how things are supposed to work.)

Something like if I have an element "Travel along the main conduit is in both directions but travel along the supplementary paths is in one direction only" - then I could flag this in some way to indicate: "Demonstrated in scene x where main character tries and fails to go backwards."

Ideally I could set this up somehow to easily spot the areas where I still need to edit.

Any thoughts?

Sanguinius
Platform: Windows

Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:12 pm Post

Have you tried using keywords and/or custom metadata? You can assign whatever name you want to these signifiers and attach them to any document you need them to be attached to. Then you can search your documents by keyword or metadata, sort them this way, view them in Outliner mode, etc. Food for thought.

AndreasE