Translating and scrivener?

Ge
Ger66
Platform: Mac

Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:54 pm Post

I started to do translating {poems etc.} and I would like to know if here in the forum are professional translater using scrivener for their work and if, how they use it, how is their workflow, how they integrate other applications (Babylon, promt, lexikas etc.). I' m thankful for every tip/screenshot.

rw
rwg

Sat Dec 27, 2014 2:52 am Post

I have been using Scrivener now for several years to produce draft translations. I have played around with several CAT programmes but have found that for the type of academic translations I do Scrivener is quite adequate. My use of Scrivener is fairly basic -- split-screen mode with the source text in one half and the translation in the other. For easy access to on-line dictionaries I use Fluid to create stand-alone applications which I can easily search using Keyboard Maestro macros. (For searching all my off-line sources I use a Japanese application called Logophile.) I don't bother compiling the draft translation once it is finished -- I just copy and paste it into Mellel for final formatting.

A fairly basic workflow, but it has served me well over the years, although I am of course open to any suggestions for improving it.

xiamenese

Sat Dec 27, 2014 2:36 pm Post

I've been using Scrivener for many years now, though for editing translations rather than doing the base draft ... I collaborate mostly with a particular Chinese friend, though I have worked with many people's translations.

Like @rwg, my use of Scrivener is pretty basic, split screen, binder open, inspector open, usually on Notes, using comments rather than inline annotations. However, since translation (including editing translations) is an activity in which one is continually changing one's mind as to how to render a difficult passage, I highly recommend the regular use of snapshots, as they allow you to roll back a translation quickly and easily.