Memoirists?

st
starrynight3
Platform: Windows

Sun Aug 03, 2014 4:45 am Post

Any memoirists out there who have used Scrivener? What Project template do you recommend for a new Scrivener user? I will be importing my first draft files. My memoir consists of lots of vignettes and I don't know the structure I want to use, except that I have about four threads, one of which is the narrative arc, that weave together. I appreciate any suggestions or help!

PJ
PJS
Platform: Mac + Windows

Sun Aug 10, 2014 3:36 am Post

I've been writing a memoir off and on for several years. I began with the basic blank template, adding items as I wrote or found them. Along the way I developed a number of topics, and am using a separate folder for each one. Then, as threads emerge, I've organized them with Compile. It's still a work in progress, but so far, that simple breakdown has been working well.

ps
You can't conquer stupid — or cure it — with more stupid.

st
starrynight3

Mon Aug 11, 2014 10:13 pm Post

Thanks PJS! My thought is to letter or number the threads (made up of vignette/scenes) and then create a pattern with which to weave them together. So the Narrative Arc thread would be A; then the Ancestor Thread would be B, the Childhood Memory Thread C, and then each scene or vignette within them A1, A2, etc. Any thoughts on how to manage this with Scrivener functions?

AmberV
Platform: Mac + Linux

Tue Aug 12, 2014 12:01 am Post

There are many ways to track threads. I would suggest that the most common and easy to use method is the document label. Open the Inspector panel by clicking the blue ‘i’ button in your toolbar, and then click on a file in the Binder that is a part of one particular thread (A2 or whatever). In the “General” section of the Inspector, you’ll see a Label drop-down. Go there and choose to edit the labels.