guide books to Scrivener

Mo
MommyProf
Platform: Mac

Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:10 pm Post

Does anyone have any experience with any of the third party guide books to Scrivener? I'm an academic writer working on a big and messy book project. Thanks!

Jo
Jordi Mora

Tue Jun 03, 2014 9:00 pm Post

The ones that spring to mind - Hernandez and Hewson - are both aimed primarily at fiction writing, but of course a lot of the Scrivener info is the same. I don't have either, and the best resource seems to me to be this forum: there are a fair number of academics here, so maybe some specific questions might get you started in the right direction(s)?

robertdguthrie

Tue Jun 03, 2014 9:10 pm Post

Before you're inundated with helpful suggestions, could you list the resources you've taken advantage or at least are aware of?
Often wrong, rarely in doubt.
Time for a change... I'm now rdale; same dog-avatar, same dog... channel?

Mo
MommyProf

Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:00 pm Post

so far I've only done the tutorial.. I've used Scrivener in the past, but not for a few years, and when I used it last I was definitely not doing fraction of what I could with it... I just saw the list of books on the literature and latte website... and was wondering if one of them might be helpful.

I've been researching a book project for years; have tons of notes, quotes, pdfs etc..and also different chunks of prose (lectures I've given, various fellowship proposal, several articles, and about a million different versions of my intro. and first chapter... ) all of this is collected in Devon Think, but now I'm wanting to turn to actually writing the thing and am overwhelmed by all of the different files etc. that I have.

For the chapter I'm writing now, I'd like to be able to move my various notes and earlier drafts into Scrivener so that I can edit and manipulate them....

Hope this makes my situation clearer. Thanks in advance for your advice.

Mr
MrGruff

Wed Jun 04, 2014 7:25 pm Post