Removing Whitespace

Ja
Jason
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 11:30 am
Location: Japan

Tue Aug 14, 2007 11:32 am Post

Hi there,

I am sometime a bit of a messy writer and often my sentences have words with more than one space inbetween. Is there any way to remove them either while I am typing or after I have finished?

Regards

User avatar
Typo
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:47 pm Post

You can do so by opening the search window. Then insert a double space in the "Find" field (or more, in case you're THAT messy ;) ) and a single space in the "Replace" field. Then click "Replace All" and you're done.

User avatar
valente.mac
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 10:50 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Algarve, Portugal

Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:54 pm Post

If you want something fancier and with a lot more features check out Text Soap. It works perfectly for me.

-- MJ

Ma
Margaret
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:52 am
Location: Southern Oregon

Wed Aug 15, 2007 1:59 am Post

Scrivener also has an option to remove extra spaces. See Text --> Convert --> Multiple Spaces to Space.

Margaret

User avatar
valente.mac
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 10:50 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Algarve, Portugal

Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:13 am Post

Interesting -- I didn't know that. However I think I found a bug on this feature (part of the text I was converting disappeared only to come back after I restated Scrivener)... it may be a bug only on 1.055b, since that's the version I'm using right now (I'm in the middle of my deadline thesis now and uncomfortable on updating Scrivener at the moment). :?

No problems when using TextSoap, though.

-- MJ