Page 3 of 4

Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:01 am
by matt
KB wrote:I have spent days now on the widows and orphans bug and it's driving me crazy. What's worse is that I never intended to have a "widows and orphans" feature in the first place. Argh!

Best,
Keith


Can you make it hidden? Or is it put there by Apple? I don't think you will get too many complaints if it is turned off by default and disappears. Leave concerns about widow and orphan lines to specialist programs (even LaTex does a pretty poor job of it, from memory).

Matt

Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 12:19 pm
by KB
This is exactly what I'm thinking of doing - I may well get rid of widows & orphans for the time being and look at it again in the future. The bug is too horrible and widows and orphans should really be the remit of a word processor anyway...

Best,
Keith

Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:54 pm
by mamster
Yeah, this is not a feature I would ever look for in Scrivener.

Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 5:12 pm
by bobembry
KB wrote:This is exactly what I'm thinking of doing - I may well get rid of widows & orphans for the time being and look at it again in the future. The bug is too horrible and widows and orphans should really be the remit of a word processor anyway...

Best,
Keith


I don't need W&O either.

Thanks

Bob

Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 5:15 pm
by KB
Actually, I think I've fixed it. If it reoccurs after the next beta, though, I'll nuke W&O for the time being.

Thanks!
Keith

Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 4:33 am
by RobertB
Keith,
Other than the autocomplete issue I have been using Scrivener this week for my comic scripts and it is working out great. This is really a great update. Cheers to Antony for contributing the script format too. It's different than what I was working with but his style has actually grown on me. I can't wait for the final release.

Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 7:17 am
by ptram
KB wrote:Actually, I think I've fixed it.


Congratulation! Again, you did the impossible...
As of now, it seems the new beta is working great. I like the new cosmetic updates. And I've yet to lose some data...

Paolo

Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 10:37 am
by KB
Phew - at last a fairly quiet update (as in not too many screaming bugs). I have finally got around to starting to update the Help file, so hopefully the official release isn't too far off.
Best,
Keith

beautiful update

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:44 am
by jeromeOlivier
keith,

thanks for the great update. i normally don't use beta software, but scrivener 1.07b is sweet velvet. :wink: awesome work!

looking forward to 1.1

all the best,

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:27 pm
by antony
RobertB wrote:Keith,
Other than the autocomplete issue I have been using Scrivener this week for my comic scripts and it is working out great. This is really a great update. Cheers to Antony for contributing the script format too. It's different than what I was working with but his style has actually grown on me. I can't wait for the final release.


YOU-WILL-BE-ASSIMILATED

Re: Scrivener 1.1 beta (1.07) public beta now available

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:45 pm
by fingers_mcginty
KB wrote:Hello all,

Note that this version will update even projects created on 1.055b,


Dummy question, but that never stopped me before: will this update projects created on 1.03 and if so, can I still open them in the stable, older release if I find myself getting buggered in the beta? (So to speak)

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:48 pm
by fingers_mcginty
Read on...from the read me file included with the beta download. (I also tend to try something before reading instruction manuals.)

"When you first open an older project in 1.1, you will be asked to update the project to the newer format. A backup will automatically be made of your old project, so be sure to keep it safe in case you need to roll back to an earlier version of Scrivener (projects created in 1.1 will not open successfully in earlier versions of Scrivener; earlier versions may even corrupt files made in 1.1 and later, so please be careful)..."

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 12:38 am
by AmberV
I came across an odd bug on my laptop. When multiple documents are selected with the Inspector open, and the Project Notes pane comes it, it is tinted bright red, not 255,0,0 per se, but a very solid vibrant red. I can not replicate this on my desktop, so I'm going to continue to try and solve where it came from. I only noticed this problem after I had defaulted the preferences, and maybe done a little minor tweaking to the colours. Index card tinting is off (which shouldn't make a difference anyway).

Just thought I would post it before I knew how to replicate it though, just in case you might have an idea of what could cause that.

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:14 am
by KB
Curious. Sometimes I set a view background to red to test for bugs, as it helps show up redrawing glitches, so at first I thought I may have accidentally left some test code in there. But I have been through all instances of colour being set in Scrivener, and nowhere is there any red where it shouldn't appear. Very strange.

Was the red in the back of the whole of the notes view, or just the lower part, after the text (which would indicate it would be the scroll view not the text view)?

At the moment, I'm going to have to put this down to a redrawing bug on your laptop...

Best,
Keith

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:16 am
by zuzu
AmberV wrote:snip

Just thought I would post it before I knew how to replicate it though, just in case you might have an idea of what could cause that.
Heresy in a Scrivener forum but sometimes a picture is worth a thousands words. FYI here is more than you ever needed to know about getting screengrabs and screenshots on Mac OS X http://www.oreillynet.com/pub/a/oreilly ... crets.html