Launchbar and an urgent request.

xiamenese
Platform: Mac

Sat Feb 26, 2011 7:43 am Post

MacUpdate has a promo of Launchbar at 50% off, if anyone is interested ... I have less than 46 hours in which to take it up if I want to.

However, could any of you Launchbar aficionados (Ioa ? :) ) answer a question quickly. The blurb that comes from MU says that the hot-key to launch Launchbar is Command-Space. Is it possible to change that within the app, as Command-Space is the hot-key for switching keyboards, and for me, switching between English and Chinese keyboards is a frequent requirement, something I've been doing for about 20 years and there's no way I want to change that.

So hot-key assignment is make-or-break for me, and I need to know within the next 45 hours. I don't want to buy the app and find it buggers up my keyboard switching.

Mark
The Scrivenato sometimes known as Mr X.
M1 MacBook Air (2021), 11.2.2, 16GB RAM, !TB SSID
iMac 27" (late 2015) 10.15.7, 24GB RAM, 512GB SSID
2017 iPad, iPadOS 14.3, 128GB, Apple Pencil
Scrivener, Scapple, Nisus Writer Pro, Bookends …

Ed
Eddie

Sat Feb 26, 2011 9:41 am Post

I use Command + \
I've used it since 2002, but did not upgrade to version 5. I would think that it has the same option to choose a different hotkey to invoke it.
In version 4 I don't think I could create any combination I wanted, but LaunchBar included some options and I picked one.

Pr
Prion

Sat Feb 26, 2011 9:51 am Post

Mark you can freely choose your hotkey to invoke Launchbar, I use version 5 and am very happy with it, keep finding out new things I can do with it. It has a clipboard history, each item of which it can display using quicklook, very handy if you copied a bunch of pictures and need to find the right one to paste into an email. One of the few so-called productivity apps that is actually worth it IMO.

mb
mbbntu
Platform: Mac + iOS

Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:28 am Post