Cheap but pretty self-publishing?

KB
Site Admin
Platform: Mac

Sun Jul 22, 2007 9:10 pm Post

Hi,

Nah, I don't want to self-publish exactly, but I do want a little advice on the best but cheapest way of publishing a few books in the UK.

As you may or may not know, I'm a primary school teacher by day. (Yes, it's the start of my six-week holiday right now - woohoo!) As in many schools, achievement in writing in my school isn't exactly brilliant - boys, especially, hate writing.

One thing I want to do next year is to get my kids to write a bunch of short stories and then pay to get these stories put into a paperback. This is exactly the sort of thing that will motivate them (they are 10 year-olds, so the paperback will be slim).

I'm thinking Lulu or some such, but I don't know. Because it's a school, this has to be very, very cheap; I was hoping that this sort of thing would be a lot cheaper to do nowadays, though. I just know that if my class can get their hands on a paperback containing their writing - and for which they have designed the cover - achievement in writing go up because it will boost their enthusiasm.

It has to be something that can be done easily in the UK.

Thoughts?

Thanks!

Best,
Keith

Ma
Maria

Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:04 pm Post

Not really an answer to your question, and certainly not the feeling of "I made a professional book like the ones you can buy in a book store". But I remember us as children designing book covers with relation to what we wrote, learning binding a book and then binding our texts ourselves. That was fun. Recently I found an old one of my husband's elementary school time,...

It needs cooperation with the arts teacher of course. ..

Best,
Maria

Siren
Platform: Mac + iOS

Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:40 pm Post