Grad School Woe

JohnstonMR
Platform: Mac

Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:06 am Post

I'm going to whine now.

I'm a full-time high school English teacher. I'm also a father of a rather precocious four year old girl. I'm also a grad student, currently mired in a course on Hawthorne and Melville. In less than two weeks I need to turn in an annotated bibliography and precis for a term paper--and I haven't got a clue what I'm even going to write about next.

This class has frustrated me to no end. The amount of BS that passes for "criticism" is astounding anyway, but feed it to a room full of MA hopefuls and it gets positively insane. I know only that I tolerate Hawthorne (love his short stories, his novels make me roll my eyes except for The Scarlet Letter), and I love Melville--but I still don't have a point to write on.

Anyway, that's me whining. If I die before I graduate, know that I gave it my all, and my poor heart burst. :)

pigfender
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS

Fri Oct 28, 2011 7:12 am Post

The only things I know about Hawthorne and Melville (with the exception of the first line of Moby-Dick) comes from what I have just read in their entries on Wikipedia.

However, it struck me as interesting that you singled out 'The Scarlet Letter' as the only one of his novels you like; apparently Hawthorne was going to write it as a short story but was convinced by his publisher to write it as a novel instead.

Perhaps there is something in that?
What is it about TSL that is different to his other works? Is it possible that he approached it not as a novel but in his mind was just a 'long short story' and that is reflected in the work?

Oh, and thank you for whining. I learnt new things today because you posted what you did.
"Some dice only have sixes." nom, 19 Oct 2013
"Piggy, I'm beginning to wonder if you are the best person to take advice from." Jaysen, 26 Sept 2014

http://www.pigfender.com | http://www.novelinaday.com

Wock

Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:17 pm Post