I hate the idea of outlining, but...

Jo
John Dodds
Platform: Windows

Wed May 23, 2018 11:14 am Post

Several novels and many short stories but never outline (except in a minimal way when halfway through and stuck.

Really want to try outlining my next novel, especially since I am struggling to get started. Been thinking about mind mapping to begin with. Has anyone found that approach useful and do you have any tips?

mb
mbbntu
Platform: Mac + iOS

Wed May 23, 2018 11:43 am Post

I've been using mind maps since about 1972, and I seem to have gradually trained my mind so that I can't work without them. I find that the visual positioning of things is the only way I can organise, now. I have also done this on the floor, putting pieces of paper or piles of documents in a pattern until I could see a structure. Whether or not it will work for a person depends on a multitude of factors. The human mind uses colour, space and positioning all the time, so to me it makes sense to use it for recording information, planning, writing and so forth. I can only say, try it and see. You might read anything that Tony Buzan has written on the subject. As to software, I've used MindNode, which is a nice place to start, but I now use iThoughts, which has more features. Both seem to be popular choices.
You should judge people not by how close they get to the top, but by how far they have come from the bottom. Some people have a mountain to climb just to get to the place where others start out. (Me, 2010)

pigfender
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS

Wed May 23, 2018 12:34 pm Post

Here's a short read on how I outline I new story for NiaD each year...
http://www.pigfender.com/index.php/2016/03/how-to-plot/
"Some dice only have sixes." nom, 19 Oct 2013
"Piggy, I'm beginning to wonder if you are the best person to take advice from." Jaysen, 26 Sept 2014

http://www.pigfender.com | http://www.novelinaday.com

rdale
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS

Wed May 23, 2018 1:05 pm Post