Getting towards the end

Bl
Bluesman
Platform: Windows

Mon Dec 16, 2013 10:29 am Post

I've been writing on and off on my current project it for the last five years (I started it just before I started college), and the last year or so I've been putting in more and more time and taking it more seriously. I wrote around half of everything in this last year. I recently passed the 90.000 word mark on the manuscript, with another 50.000 or so words in random bits and pieces that I'm not sure I'm going to use. Maybe for the future. Sometimes I get inspiration for something that doesn't fit in the story, and I just proceed to write it down anyway. You never know when it'll come in handy, and it has lead to other ideas every now and then.

I'll probably end up with 28 or so chapters. There's a red line in the last three chapters and I'm pretty sure how I'm going to end it. Chapter 1-21 also flows nicely. The problem is the space between chapter 22 and 25. I have a general idea what I want in there, but writing it down feels like I really have to grind through it, while most of the chapters before that just flowed out of my fingers without much effort. I find it difficult to tie up loose ends and attach the right kind of meaning to things.

Does this sound familiar to any of you?

Hu
Hugh
Platform: Mac

Mon Dec 16, 2013 3:09 pm Post

I'm sorry, but not really. I almost always know the end just after I know the beginning (or even, occasionally, before). This gives me something to aim at (and sometimes gives problems with the middle, but let's not go there today).