A Scrivener adoptee

Bu
Bunford
Platform: Mac

Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:23 pm Post

I'm new to Scrivener and using a Mac. I've even bought a brand new MacBook Air for portability to aid with my writing.

However, I'm also a newbie writer. I'm 33 years old and have been developing a story in m head, writing endless notes, carrying out research etc for several years. It has now snowballed to the point where I feel like I could make a good first draft and take I from there.

I was wondering what other software is recommended to digitise my hard copy notes, create story maps etc. also, any other advice in general before I write the first draft? I've already read several books on plotting, character development etc so have a fairly good sense of direction but advice never hurts!

Cheers all!

AmberV
Platform: Mac + Linux

Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:05 pm Post

Well an obvious-in-hindsight first answer is Scrivener itself. :) The project format is specifically designed to accommodate dumping your background and research material in, and having that resource located directly in your binder can be very handy. There are some practical constraints (rather than limits). For example whenever you close your project Scrivener creates a backup. 99% of the time this is fine because even a large novel doesn't take up much space on your drive, and the backup will be done so fast you won't even know it took place. Things change when you approach a gigabyte of material, but when you choose to bail on storing everything in a project is up to the speed of your computer and personal level of patience. Some people have no problem waiting 20 or 30 seconds for a project to close, others start to see red after ten seconds.