Generic RPG that could be used as a story system?

StaceyUK
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS

Mon Oct 29, 2012 7:08 pm Post

This is a probably stupid question but I'm going to ask it anyway. Is there a generic rpg system that I use to create characters and plot by rolling a dice. Feel it may assist me in doing bad things to my characters. Not even sure if such a thing exists.

Basically is there a generic RPG system out there that will help me create my own stories? I struggle to do bad things to my characters sometimes. I could let the dice help me decide their fate. BWAHAHAHA!
Blessings, Stacey

System Specs

Windows 7
Scrivener 1.9.7 / 2.8 /3.0.3/1.1.5 (1301)
Scapple 1.0.0.0
Windows 2.9.0.26 Beta

Lord Lightning

Tue Oct 30, 2012 4:40 am Post

Johnn Four

roleplayingtips.com

Explore!
Lord Lightning

I'm a writer. I create worlds!
When I make a declarative statement it applies to ME. Not to everyone.

AmberV
Platform: Mac + Linux

Tue Oct 30, 2012 5:26 am Post

For a while I used Tarot to generate random scenarios for my characters, and sometimes to even design the characters themselves. It's a pretty good technique because Tarot is specific enough to say something, but at the same time horoscope-flexible enough to adapt to nearly any situation you throw a random set of cards at (which is why it works so well as a "divination" tool). It's also handy because it has a pretty full range of Things That Might Happen to Humans. Main drawback is that it takes a little bit of study to learn how to use it effectively. The little booklets they usually come with are enough for story building, I'd say. Some basic description for each card, and usually one or two "spreads" you can use to deal the cards into. A very simple one that works well is just three cards for past-present-future.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

robertdguthrie
Platform: Mac

Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:43 pm Post