The Crystal Key, published after 10 years

th
thoward
Platform: Mac

Sun Nov 13, 2011 12:25 am Post

I will start with a confession and say I didn't have Scrivener when I was struggling to get The Crystal Key going. What I had was a wall full of post-it notes. However, Scrivener came into my life at the end and I'm convinced is the reason I am now a published author. I am proud to say The Crystal Key is now available on the Kindle or the Nook (both have Preview available).

Here is a brief snippet of The Crystal Key for you.

Mirah saw only wholesale chaos, a blur of horse and rider within a choking cloud of dust. She’d heard Roenin’s voice over the deafening ringing of steel ordering her to head for Krys. Reason was screaming for her to obey, but she couldn’t simply leave. There had to be a way she could at least turn the odds in their favor. The problem was she had no idea what she could possibly do. As much as it tore at her heart, reason said her only option was to concede and obey Roenin’s order. Taking Rima’s reins firmly in hand, she turned the frightened horse against the on rush of Paladins and began fighting her way out, dodging wild sword swings as she went.

With freedom in sight, a wild, fantastic thought exploded in her mind. Maybe there was a way she could help. Yes, the very idea was beyond preposterous, but she had nothing to lose. Grasping her pendant, the symbol of the protection that had already proven its power, she held it tightly in her hand and cried out, “Deceris, goddess of light and bringer of peace to all who accept your wisdom, I pray now in an hour of great need. Please protect my valiant guardians and myself from those forces that would extinguish your light.” What happened next was something she never would have been able to conceive of, not even in her wildest, most imaginative dreams.