Search found 10 matches

Advanced Search
by jakekerr
Tue Oct 30, 2012 2:44 pm
Forum: Reviews & Recommendations
Topic: Books on writing
Replies: 55
Views: 17974

Re: Books on writing

my latest fave rave = Attack of the Copula Spiders , by Douglas Glover Publication Date: March 27, 2012. Biblioasis Press Paperback Edition ISBN: 978-1-92684-546-3 “Glover is a master of narrative structure.” —Wall Street Journal In the tradition of E.M. Forster, John Gardner, and James Wood, Dougla...
by jakekerr
Wed Aug 15, 2012 6:39 pm
Forum: Novel in a Day
Topic: Novel-in-a-Day 2: The Revenge
Replies: 274
Views: 51729

Re: Novel-in-a-Day 2: The Revenge

revised date of Oct.20 do-able for me.
by jakekerr
Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:06 pm
Forum: Novel in a Day
Topic: Novel-in-a-Day 2: The Revenge
Replies: 274
Views: 51729

Re: Novel-in-a-Day 2: The Revenge

me wanna be in. write muchly good, you betcha.

being "meta and mucho" since 2011
by jakekerr
Fri May 25, 2012 6:24 pm
Forum: Wish List
Topic: bookmarks
Replies: 1
Views: 354

bookmarks

Shift-Command-B is an often-used tool for me. But I sometimes work with unwieldy drafts that go on for pages without a paragraph break. This is when the value of bookmarking, as currently set up, is greatly diminished for me. I've searched these forums, and the Scrivener Manual, but haven't found an...
by jakekerr
Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:02 pm
Forum: Bug Hunt (Mac)
Topic: symbol and text substitution
Replies: 3
Views: 508

symbol and text substitution

Since I've converted to Mac Lion, and through its revisions (currently 10.7.3) I've had not-always replicable instances of System Preferences/Language And Text/Symbol And Text Substitution items I've added — and even some of the default sub's that come pre-packaged in the OS, for example ½, ¼, etc —...
by jakekerr
Wed Oct 05, 2011 6:48 pm
Forum: Novel in a Day
Topic: Novel-in-a-Day (NIAD)... Day
Replies: 365
Views: 52111

Re: Novel-in-a-Day (NIAD)... Day

Cunningly riposted, he chortled.
by jakekerr
Wed Oct 05, 2011 6:28 pm
Forum: Novel in a Day
Topic: Novel-in-a-Day (NIAD)... Day
Replies: 365
Views: 52111

Re: Novel-in-a-Day (NIAD)... Day

Ah, the dysfunctional do-si-do; how I love my sedentary tribe. I want to participate, but only if I do or do not have: characters, settings, conflicts, goals, and only if I can or can not use: verbs, nouns, adjectives, etc. In perpetual irascible admiration I remain, yr hmbl srvnt or master or peer,
by jakekerr
Sat May 07, 2011 10:27 pm
Forum: Using Scrivener
Topic: auto-correct
Replies: 0
Views: 360

auto-correct

Since I wanted global, not merely project-specific, auto-corrections, here’s how I’ve found to do it on my Mac (an added benefit is, since these auto-corrections are at the System level, they work in other text programs as well as Scrivener): I find that it’s most efficient for me to get into a Grow...
by jakekerr
Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:02 am
Forum: Wish List
Topic: auto-correct
Replies: 1
Views: 276

auto-correct

I want a two-key macro that will call up the "System Text Preferences" sub-menu of the Auto-Correction subset of Scrivener Preferences. I want to then, immediately, be able to start imputting whatever bastardized shorthand item that occurs to me. In WORD I've long done this whilst (I love ...
by jakekerr
Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:58 pm
Forum: Technical Support (Mac)
Topic: the ol' lockup bugaboo
Replies: 1
Views: 295

the ol' lockup bugaboo

started using freeby (Inter)NaNoWriMo. Soon decided to buy as a 20% discount Nano user. Did, and got registered---no problems. Decided to delete Nano version and re-load with latest straight-ahead Scriv 2. Did---no problem till I opened the file I'd been working on, which was over a gig in size; it ...