Migrating from Mac to Linux

I am curious how Linux users fit Scrivener into their workflows. I’m an academic writer who has been using Devonthink Pro as a database and file organizer and MS Word for writing. Now, for multiple reasons, I wish to abandon Mac and move entirely to Linux. However, in searching for a Linux replacement for Devonthink, I discovered Scrivener. I had never heard of it, but I like what I see. What I don’t know is whether it could double as a database, which is a big part of Devonthink’s usefulness. Suppose one dumped several gigs of data in the Scrivener Research folder? Would that be madness? Do any of you use Scrivener as a database?