[JH] Installation affecting Chrome, Office 2016?

Gi
Gilesy
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:00 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:14 am Post

I installed the latest Windows Beta version from: Scrivener-2903-installer_x64.exe in Windows 10 environment. Chrome no longer opened, MS Office 2016 "stopped working". Tried reinstalling both applications, no change. I uninstalled Scrivener Beta. Both applications working again. This did not occur with the previous Beta.
Last edited by Gilesy on Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Gi
Gilesy
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:00 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:28 am Post

Have uninstalled Scrivener 1.9.7 for Windows. Will reinstall Beta and see if the same happens again.

Gi
Gilesy
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:00 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Feb 05, 2018 12:01 pm Post

Also just seen that Sophos wasn't updating or functioning while Beta was installed... Ok. Here goes. Not looking forward to installing all those again.

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 8680
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:53 am Post

Have you run any Windows updates or made other changes to the system? Rebooted since the installation? I can't think of any changes between Beta 2 and Beta 3 that would affect this, and it's not a common issue. I'm also running the 64-bit installation on Windows 10 alongside MS Office 2016 and Chrome and haven't encountered this. I'm not familiar with Sophos, but it's worth rebooting into Safe Mode with Networking to install the beta there and see how Chrome and Office run.
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)

Gi
Gilesy
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:00 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:44 pm Post

I reinstalled the Beta. It opened and I was able to create some pages and index cards. Word, Chrome and Sophos all working fine.The third time I tried to open Scrivener Beta, it just refused. It gave me the message about the expiration of the beta, the screen flashed white as if about to open the app, then back to desktop. Nothing.

Gi
Gilesy
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:00 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:21 pm Post

Following this latest installation of the Beta, Sophos worked fine, just Word and Chrome not working. To answer your other question, no other changes to my system were made before or after the Beta installation.

I should also mention I also have Scrivener 1.9.7 installed. And it was interesting that when I uninstalled Scrivener Beta, Chrome and Word were still not working but when I also uninstalled 1.9.7 everything worked again.

Could it be that there is a conflict between the two versions of Scrivener - I was careful to change the directory for the Beta to /Scrivener 3...?

I'll try a 1.9.7 installation only again and see if everything is well. Then if other apps are ok, I'll install the Beta and be careful to follow the instructions for the dual installation (did I miss something out before?) If this doesn't work, I will then try the safe mode procedure you suggest.

Gi
Gilesy
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:00 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:45 pm Post

Uninstalled 1,9.7 and Beta. Reinstalled 1.9.7 and renamed the desktop shortcut as instructed on this forum. Reinstalled Beta version, renaming the program destination folder \Scrivener3 as instructed. Opened 1.9.7, opened Beta. Everything working fine - Chrome, Word, Sophos all good so far.

Gi
Gilesy
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:00 pm
Platform: Windows

Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:34 am Post

Returned to same PC two days later. No other changes to system. Chrome and Word will not open. Same behaviour as before. Functionality returned once I had uninstalled Scrivener 1.9.7 and Beta 2903.

By the way, JH, the title you have given this thread is a little misleading. The problem is with Chrome and Office 2016 in Windows 10, not Windows 2016...

I will reinstall Beta 2903, not Scrivener 1.9.7 and see how it goes.

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 8680
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:55 am Post

Have you tried running in Safe Mode to see if the applications will work together there? Do Chrome and Office open if Scrivener hasn't been launched since boot, or if it's not currently running?
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)

Gi
Gilesy
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:00 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:04 pm Post

Word and Chrome function after installation of Beta 2903 and also after Beta has been opened the first time. On restart however, they do not function. (This time only the Beta was installed, so there is no question of Scrivener 1.9.7 being involved in any way.)

I will install Beta only again and see if it all works in Safe Mode.

Gi
Gilesy
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:00 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:45 pm Post

I'm in safe mode (Windows 10). Beta version only installed.

Chrome works fine.

Word is not working: message reads - "Something went wrong. We couldn't start your program. Please try it again. If it won't start, try repairing Office from Programs and Features in the control panel.

Gi
Gilesy
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:00 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:54 pm Post

Tried out all my apps in SM and Normal Startup while Beta is installed. "No" means the app failed to open, obvs.

Safe Mode
MS Access - No
MS Excel - No
MS OneNote 2016 - No
MS Word - No
MS Outlook - No
Pro Tools 12 HD - tries to load but there is a module missing from the iLok security so will not open
FadeIn - Yes
Chrome - Yes
Audacity - Yes
Skype - Yes
Adobe Digital Editions - Yes
Zotero - Yes
WhatsApp - Yes
Nikon Digicam Control - Yes
Scrivener Beta - Yes

Normal Mode:
MS Access - No
MS Excel - Yes
MS OneNote 2016 - No
OneNote (free app) - Yes
MS Word - No
MS Outlook - No
Pro Tools 12 HD - No
FadeIn - No
Chrome - No
Audacity - No
Skype - No
Adobe Digital Editions - Yes
Zotero - Yes
WhatsApp - No
Nikon Digicam Control - No
Scrivener Beta - No

So, Cannot continue with beta testing until this is resolved.

Gi
Gilesy
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:00 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:55 pm Post

Chased up the problem with Pro Tools and installed update for iLok secrurity. Now Pro Tools opens in Normal Mode. Also everything else now working - Word, Access, etc. including Scrivener Beta.

I'll keep checking all the apps and leave the Scrivener Beta installed. I'll report back if there's any change.

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 8680
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Tue Feb 13, 2018 7:26 am Post

Glad to hear you have gotten things working! Whatever has been causing the programs not to run seems specific to your system setup, so tracking this down, should it recur, is going to need something like running the dependency walker to see what libraries are being called and where that might be breaking down, checking Windows error reporting for any clues, etc. I hope though it won't be necessary, and updating the other apps was enough to resolve the trouble!
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)

Gi
Gilesy
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:00 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Feb 13, 2018 7:42 pm Post

Thanks JH. I started up the system again today... Same problems as before. Groan. It looks like I might have to do the walking.