[LH2533] Can only assign template folder when folder is nested under Research

User avatar
Aurion
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:05 am
Platform: Windows

Tue Nov 21, 2017 6:29 am Post

In Scrivener 1.x, my Templates Folder was a root folder on the same level as Draft (i.e. not nested at all). In the Interactive Tutorial for 2.9.0.1, the "Sheets" folder (which is what we turn into a Template Folder) is nested under Research, and it is the only folder able to be selected as a Template Folder under Project Settings > Special Folders.

To test this, I made a new project from the "blank" template (i.e. without presets). I cannot assign any folder in the project as the Template Folder:

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (141.61 KiB) Viewed 281 times


I create a second project from a Project Template (I used the "Short Story" template, which I think is a 1.x template) that does have a Template Folder assigned, but on the root (un-nested) level. The templates work (templates have the T logo, Ctrl + T, Ctrl +N work, and the "New from Template..." command works), but the Project Settings > Special Folders still doesn't recognize it as a Template Folder.

Capture2.JPG
Capture2.JPG (77.54 KiB) Viewed 281 times


However, going back to the newly-created blank project, as soon as I nest a folder underneath the Research folder, it can be assigned as the Template Folder. Nesting the folders under other non-Research folders doesn't allow it to get recognized as a possible Template Folder.

Capture3.jpg
Capture3.jpg (141.31 KiB) Viewed 281 times


I converted an old 1.x project to the beta, and sure enough, only folders I'd shuffled under Research were selectable as a Template Folder in Project Settings > Special Folders.

I'm on Windows 10 64-bit Home, sole user/admin. Version 2.9.0.1.

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 8368
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Tue Nov 21, 2017 6:53 am Post

Thanks, this is filed, On upgraded projects, the folder continues to behave as the template folder even though it is not shown properly in the Project Settings, so if you don't need to change it you should be OK to keep working with those settings.
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)

Al
AlanKMcGrath
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 2:09 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:34 pm Post

Thank you, Aurion. I've been wracking my brain over this today!
Problem solved. :D