How to add a word to IOS speller

Po
Potts
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:08 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Peachland, British Columbia

Thu Jan 18, 2018 8:28 pm Post

I have probably missed something, but for the life of me I can't figure out how to add a word to the speller on my iPad from within a Scrivener document. Can someone please enlighten me? Thx.

Feeling rather stupid,

Barry

Po
Potts
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:08 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Peachland, British Columbia

Thu Jan 25, 2018 8:28 pm Post

I'd appreciate knowing even if it is simply NOT possible to add a word to the dictionary from within Scrivener on my iPad.

Thanks.

User avatar
Silverdragon
Posts: 597
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 2:52 pm
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Tarzana, California, USA
Contact:

Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:57 pm Post

Honestly, I don't believe it is. To the best of my knowledge, iOS Scrivener uses the iOS dictionaries, and the spelling facilities in whatever iOS soft/hard keyboard you're using.

If this is important to you, several third-party soft keyboards, such as Swype, allow you to add words to their internal dictionaries on the fly.

If I'm wrong, I hope someone from Official Tech Support will correct me!
So you know where I'm coming from:
  • I'm a user, not an L&L employee.
  • Mac Scrivener 3.0.2, MacBook Air 11, MacOS 10.12.6 (Sierra)
  • IOS Scrivener 1.1.5, iPhone 6s, iPad Air 2, iOS 11.4

Po
Potts
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:08 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Peachland, British Columbia

Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:03 pm Post

Thanks for the tip about installing a different keyboard. I’ll give that a try.

Do
Don Goldberg
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 3:51 am
Platform: Mac + iOS

Fri Jan 26, 2018 1:41 am Post

Potts, let us know how it went with the different soft keyboard.

Po
Potts
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:08 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Peachland, British Columbia

Sat Jan 27, 2018 12:51 am Post

I tried a number of soft keyboards, including Grammarly, Gboard, Prokeyboard and SwiftKey, to no avail. Swypes no longer seems available (at least in my Canadian app store), so I wasn't able to test that one. If anyone has has better luck with a different keyboard, I'd love to hear about it.

wh
whateverbefallmegan
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 3:40 pm
Platform: Mac

Thu Mar 29, 2018 3:52 pm Post

I got it to work! I just added the words to my dictionary on my Word app and it carried over to Scrivener immediately. Not through the keyboard , but right in the document.